2013 in Review

I honestly can’t believe it’s ‘that’ time of year again, when I post my yearly recap post. This past year was amazing, and insane, and exhausting, and beautiful. And as excited as I am for 2014, I look back on 2013 with a smile on my face and lots of fond memories! 🙂

So here are some of the highlights of 2013!!!!

Nate and I finally decided on a color and painted our kitchen… just in time for a Superbowl party with my parents and sister Sarah.

Superbowl

I finally saved up enough to buy myself a nice camera. (I really didn’t spend enough time this year learning how to use it, so I guess that should be one of my resolutions for this new year).

new camera!

I went on lots of shopping trips with my sister (a.k.a. bestie) Sarah! 🙂

best picture ever

We also went to the Big E State Fair…

Big E

…and — most memorably — we took our trip to New York City!

NYC

THAT was such a fun trip and definitely a highlight of the year… I think it calls for two pictures, don’t you?? 😉

Loft!

I ran the Mud Run 5k with my besties Sarah and Ashley…

mud run

… and ran a local 5k with my dad and sister.

5k

Nate received a Medal of Honor by a local police organization…

Nate's Award

…and we were flown to Nevada where he received the Medal of Valor for bravery in the line of duty…

Nevada

… and we were sent to Washington DC where he received special recognition and another medal…

road trip!

…and then he also received the Medal of Honor at the State Capitol.

pic 6

In the early spring, we also went on the vacation that we had been saving for and dreaming of for years. We flew to Hawaii for a week!

Hawaii 3

It was the BEST vacation ever!

Hawaii 2

Hmmm, what else.

Nate and I slept under the stars quite a few times. I love how relaxing, fun, and affordable camping is!

1 - edited 5

Highstreet learned to read…

best picture ever 5

…and Stitchy found an appreciation for fresh herbs…

best picture ever 4

… and yoga.

Best picture ever 2

Sarah and I hit the beach and made each day of summer count!

beach

And I went on my first duck tour with the family! 🙂

bday

Oh, and I can’t forget about my surprise 30th birthday party!!

bday 2

It was SUCH a fun year. And even though there were some rough patches (as everyone faces), I feel as though Nate and I really grew this past year. We grew stronger, and wiser, and more in love.

And now I can’t wait to see what 2014 brings! 🙂

God, thank You SO much for blessing us in 2013. Thank you SO much for watching over us, for giving us good health, and for guiding us in the decisions we had to make. I thank You for helping me heal emotionally as the affects of Nate’s assault really hit me over the past 6 months. I thank You for helping me to focus on the good that came of it, as only You can turn beauty from ashes. Only You can turn a horrible situation into one of blessing and joy, and I know that the peace I feel is not my own. It is just another miracle from above. I pray for Your continued protection and guidance in this upcoming year. And I pray a special blessing on everyone who reads this post… on all of my bloggy friends who motivate and encourage me every day. 🙂 Thank you! And Amen.

camera 2 056

10 thoughts on “2013 in Review

  1. It’s always nice to recap your year because when you do you really discover all the awesome things that you actually did during the year.
    With your big career change I think 2014 is going to be even better for you.

  2. Haha, Stitchy always makes me laugh!! I wish I had his yoga moves. 😉

    I had such a wonderful year as well. It was so much fun partnering with mom and Nate to conspire a surprise birthday party for you! And going to Maine for the day was like a little mini vacation that still makes me sigh with contentment whenever I think of it (lobster rolls, fries and salty air, anyone?)

    AND, AND, AND…NYC was amazing!!! 2013 was full of so many wonderful things. 😀

  3. WOOHOO! Love that you included the kitties in your highlights! You, Nate, and your family are such an inspiration to be loving, positive, and grateful. I’m so thankful you were such a big part of my own year. Thank you for being awesome! Hugs! ❤

Leave a Reply

