Dreaming of a White Christmas

Thank you SOOoo much for all of the support and encouragement you left on my last post!!! 🙂 Life is definitely going to change big-time, come January; but I think I’m much more excited than nervous now that I’ve had a week or two to adjust to the realization that I really am doing this. I’m ready for a change and can’t wait to step into this grand new adventure with all of you. 🙂

That being said, my blogs might be a bit scatter-brained or photo-oriented these next couple of weeks. 😉 I’m spending my evenings, after working at the office throughout the day, practicing harmonic minor scales, copying theory pages, and putting together flash-cards. It’s a busy time, for sure, but it’s also a fun time; because I’m preparing to do something that I love!! 🙂

I really felt encouraged about my decision today, when I chatted with the mother of two of my current piano students. When her girls were told that they could only have piano lessons this week if they got over their bad colds, they both declared that they were going to bed early so that they could get better before Thursday’s lesson!

They make me so proud! 🙂

One thing that I’ve been focusing on ever since my decision to take on more piano students is to feed my own love of music. I’ve been spending even more time at the piano. And I’ve found myself watching favorite musicals just to hear my favorite songs sung again.

One of my all-time favorite musicals — right up there with Singing in the Rain, The Sound of Music, Oklahoma, My Fair Lady, and Fiddler on the Roof — is White Christmas. So I was quite excited to hear that a local theatre was performing it during the holiday season, and I promptly went online to order tickets for me, Nate, my parents, and my sister Sarah!

Christmas 2013 037

The more the merrier, correct?

(My outfit for the evening was a new, red dress I had picked up from The Loft. Normally $90, I found it on clearance for $25, and paired it with a cropped, black sweater).

Christmas 2013 001

Although you obviously can’t ever outdo Bing Crosby, the production was quite good, and we all had a wonderful evening out. And when the cast had sung their last rendition of White Christmas and we all poured out of the theatre, we were met with a magical sight.
It had started snowing!

Christmas 2013 016

I love music… I love the holidays… I love my family.

And I most definitely do love new adventures!

8 thoughts on “Dreaming of a White Christmas

  1. I love musicals too! If only I could sing… or dance… or play music. ha.

    Your leap of faith is a huge inspiration. I really do wish ALL the best things in life for you! And wherever this adventure leaves you in blogging, I’m cool with that. I’m just happy to have a little piece of you. Thank you for sharing your life, positivity, and amazing energy with all of us. You’re the BEST! 🙂

  2. I love White Christmas (as well as the other musicals!). I think snow is magical (because I don’t see it very often at all). What a perfect ending to a great night!

  3. Ahh, Singing in the Rain, Sound of Music, and White Christmas are a few of my favorites too! If you haven’t already seen Royal Wedding with Fred Astaire, I highly recommend it as well. Local theatre performances are so much fun – it may not be Bing Crosby, but they love what they’re doing and are in it to have a good time with the performance. That is enjoyable in itself! How perfect that it had began to snow when you left the theatre too.

  4. SO much love going on in this post! Woo hoo!! I bet you are the best piano teacher, and I think your story about the two students is TOO cute. I love encouragement like that. My sister takes piano lessons, and I soo wish she could take them from you!

Leave a Reply

