Thanksgiving 2013

As a kid, I was convinced that sunshine had a special glow on Thanksgiving Day. Somehow, it was brighter and warmer, as though everything it touched was somehow bathed in love and captured forever like a Norman Rockwell painting. Yes, I was rather sentimental like that.

And in many ways, I haven’t outgrown these feelings. Family is everything to me.

Christmas 2013 014

Thanksgiving is a smallish affair, as it’s only my immediate family who comes to my parent’s house. But it’s absolutely perfect, just the same. My sister Sarah scurries around the kitchen, helping my mom with this and that. I catch up with Pepere, as well as these two (my brother Matt and his girlfriend Kelsey who have driven from out-of-state).

Thanksgiving 3

And then I cheer Dad on as he begins the important task of carving the turkey. It’s a pretty important job, I have to say.

Christmas 2013 016

Some Thanksgiving traditions that my family enjoys every year are eating my mom’s should-be-famous homemade rolls, sharing what we’re thankful for, and celebrating my hubby’s birthday. Nate turned 30 years old ON Thanksgiving this year!

Also, while most people go for Turkey Trot runs before the Thanksgiving meal, my family and I go for a brisk walk afterward. Or, as we like to call it, we go for a Turkey Trudge, as we’re all so full that we tend to waddle a bit by that point. With this year’s temps being a ‘balmy’ 30 degrees, I had to be a bit creative and ended up borrowing some yoga pants and a sweatshirt from my sister.

Thanksgiving 4

Hey, a girl has to do what a girl has to do!

On our walk we came across this sign, which left me with one more thing that I’m thankful for. I’m thankful that my mom taught me grammar and spelling, in addition to the importance of being positive. 😉

Thanksgiving 5

How was your Thanksgiving?

6 thoughts on “Thanksgiving 2013”

  1. What! Your dad doesn’t do a Turkey Trot?!? Although I do love the “Turkey Trudge…”

    Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving. Happy belated birthday, Nate!!

  2. I just love that dress!!!!
    And I totally understand the warm, fuzzy feeling that holidays with family are all about. God bless!

  3. That sign! HAHA! I love it!

    Also, I love your outfit! You look so perfectly fall! Like you just waltzed off the cover of Pinterest. 🙂

    And finally, I love that you guys call it a “Turkey Trudge”! That’s hilarious and so aptly named!

Leave a Reply

