Souper Sunday – Crockpot Beef Stew

I love soup.

It’s comfort after a long day at work, warmth after hours spent in the chilly cold, and nourishment when you’re feeling sick. It’s kind of like a hug in a bowl. And the best part about it is that it’s oftentimes quick and easy to make.

Chop… chop… stir…
Now read a magazine or two as it simmers. 😉

edited 2

From the very first frost, when I wake up to see the grass frozen and shimmering in the morning sunlight, I begin to crave soups, stews, and chili’s. Salads were delicious all summer long; and I most definitely ate my share of wraps, sandwiches, and burgers. But there is something in the changing temps that instantly makes me want large bowls of soup served with chunks of crusty bread.

Fortunately for me, I married a man who also shares this foodie passion. He gets quite excited about it, actually. I once overheard him telling one of his friends that it was almost time for Souper Sundays to begin again, as though he were talking about the Superbowl.

Souper Sundays, if you are wondering, is something I came up with a few years ago to convince myself that it wasn’t boring to make soup for dinner every single Sunday evening. Nate certainly wasn’t complaining about the tradition. But somehow coming up with a name — or a theme, of sorts — made it that much more acceptable.

This year, I even decided to turn the dial up a notch by challenging myself to try a new soup recipe every week.

Oh, yeah, things are getting crazy in this here kitchen! 😉

Of course, I have to start with my favorite recipes first, since I waited all summer for them. Like this crockpot beef stew recipe, based off of Emeril’s recipe. I lightened it a bit by cutting out the oil and butter entirely; and I changed up the seasoning, just a tad. I also made the recipe more busy-cook friendly by skipping the searing step. (Trust me, the recipe is still delicious).

edited

Crockpot Beef Stew

2 pounds beef stew meat, cut into 1-inch pieces
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
3/4 teaspoon black pepper
8oz sliced, fresh mushrooms
3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
3 cups beef broth
2 tablespoons tomato paste
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon dried basil
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/8 teaspoon ground allspice
1 pound red potatoes, cut into bite-sized pieces
1 cup diced carrots
1 cup chopped onion
1/2 cup frozen green peas, thawed
2-3 tablespoons cornstarch

Directions

Add the mushrooms, flour, broth, tomato paste, herbs, spices, and meat to a slow cooker. Cover the slow cooker and set the temperature to high. Cook for 1 hour. Add the potatoes, carrots, and onions and continue to cook the stew for another 4 1/2 hours… on low.
Once the stew is cooked, stir in the peas. Scoop about 1/2 cup of the hot broth into a small bowl and stir in the cornstarch until well blended. Pour that into the slowcooker and stir well.
Serve and enjoy!

9 thoughts on “Souper Sunday – Crockpot Beef Stew”

      1. I LOVE mushrooms!!! Like seriously love them. Ha, ha. 🙂 AND I’d love to have your lasagna soup recipe if you’d be willing to share!!! I’ve never had it.

Leave a Reply

