You know you’re tired when you… poomp

This past weekend, Starbucks had a buy one / get one sale on their holiday drinks, so Sarah and I obviously had to pile into my little yellow car and drive into the city to take advantage of the offer. It had been a long, busy week for both of us. And the problem with long, busy weeks is that once Saturday arrives, and you actually have some free time, your body pretty much shuts down from exhaustion.

So coffee sounded pretty amazing. I mean, my sister was making herself smoothies and blowing on them to cool them off. I was caught talking to myself in my cubicle at work. Things were getting bad, and we needed caffeine pronto! (After all, you can only eat so much chocolate before it starts to have the opposite affect and you start to crash). ๐Ÿ˜‰

Of course, I could have used the caffeine boost before my order, since I was apparently too exhausted to even handle that.

“I want a soy latte with one pump mocha and one pump peppermint,” Sarah whispered to me as I stopped the car to order.
“Hi,” I shouted into the speaker. “I’d like a soy latte with one poomp…”
I paused, feeling a little startled at the strange word that had just come out of my mouth. That wasn’t right… I try again. “Poomp.”

Sarah is starting to chuckle.
“Sorry!” I apologize, feeling my face turn red. “Can I have one point mocha. No, that’s not it. One Point… poomp.”
Sarah is gasping for air at this point. I mean, gasping like a fish out of water. She is also making snorting noses, wiping tears from her eyes, and bending over as if someone punched her in the stomach.

stuff 048

(Don’t let how sweet and innocent she looks in this pic fool you)!

I start punching her in the arm, chanting, “What’s the word??? What’s the word????”

“Do you want one PUMP mocha?” the speaker lady asks me, sounding quite irritated.
“Yes!” I say, probably sounding a little too excited. “That’s the word!”

Speaker lady wasn’t amused. My sister, on the other hand, was about to crack a rib from laughing too hard. So I decided to join in. Because if you can’t beat them, join them. And really, ‘poomp’ is a word that most definitely requires a chuckle at the very least.

Poomp.
Look for it in the dictionary… probably never. ๐Ÿ™‚

camera 2 020

6 thoughts on “You know you’re tired when you… poomp

  1. Haha! Too funny. When you’re saying poomp, it’s definitely a sign that you need multiple poomps of whatever caffeinated goodness in which you’re indulging. Pity that speaker lady didn’t have a sense of humor. Maybe the word will grow on her. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Wow. Serious brain fart. I can’t believe Sarah just laughed instead of helping you out! What a great sister ๐Ÿ˜›

    I often cannot find the right word but it’s not that my mouth is saying something different. I’m told it could actually be a brain/speech problem which freaks me out but oh well.

    Hope you got the drink you wanted!

  3. Bahahahaha! Oh Nicole, I say stuff like this all the time. I hate when I forget the word I’m looking for, ha! Also, I originally thought your title was “you know you’re tired when you poop” so I was a bit confused at first. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

