Chalkboard Wall Hanging

A month or so ago, back when the leaves were still green and the air wasn’t quite so chilly, I decided to try my hand at creating a menu board for a blank wall in my dining room.  When purchased online from a trendy, home-decorating store, you can easily drop $50-$100.

I wanted the look without the price!

The only tools needed for this it’s-almost-too-easy-to-be-called-a-craft project are the following:  a picture frame, a foam brush, and chalkboard paint.

Oh, and of course, you’ll need chalk too!

I used a foam roller, but I definitely think a foam brush would work much better.  As for the frame. I found this cute one for only $10 at a nearby HomeGoods store!

Lay out some newspapers to work on and then place the glass portion of the frame down on that.  Now the fun part!

Paint… paint… paint.

I painted a few coats, letting each dry before adding another.

The first coat went on very thin; but as I continued on with the coats (about 3-4), the glass transformed into a chalkboard!  Exciting, right??

I know, chalkboard paint never gets old.

It’s a great afternoon craft, because it allows time for fun activities while the paint is drying.

Like chasing a naughty, gray kitten with chalkboard-painted toes across the kitchen floor.  Or trying to teach a fuzzy, black cat to jump through hoops.

Once the paint has dried sufficiently, it’s now time for the hardest part of the entire project — deciding what to write on your new chalkboard!  Originally, I was going to use it as a Menu Board.  But now, I think I’m going to write ‘Bon Appetit’, because I love that French saying almost as much as I love what it means!

But for now, since I forgot to actually buy chalk, my almost finished project is hanging on the dining room wall.  I have to say, I like the way it turned out!  🙂

7 thoughts on “Chalkboard Wall Hanging”

    1. Thanks, Sarah! It’s because I used my good camera… I noticed the difference right away too. 🙂 Which reminds me, I need another photography lesson soon. 😉

  1. I love the frame. It’s got a nice rustic feel to it.
    I’d definitely use it as a menu board. Or for a grocery list… then you can take a picture with your phone and just bring that when you go grocery shopping.

Leave a Reply

