A Walk Through an Apple Orchard

To be completely honest, for the majority of the year, I’m not a huge fan of apples.

I love looking at them, because they really are quite pretty.  And I will never, ever say ‘no’ to one if it’s baked in a pie (especially if it’s baked into one of my mom’s famous apple pies).  But when it comes to my daily fruit intake, I’m more apt to grab a peach, nectarine, or bag of grapes.  Apples just generally aren’t my thing.

But then, seasons change.  The days get a little chillier…   A light frost glistens on the lawn during the morning hours…  Leaves turn to brilliant shades of red and orange.  And suddenly, for an entire season, I forget that apples bore me, and I eat them up faster than cookie monster would devour a box of Girlscout cookies.

Because let’s face it, there is nothing more perfectly tart, sweet, juicy, and delicious than an apple freshly picked off of the tree.

There is also nothing that relaxes me quite like walking through an apple orchard does.  It’s quiet and peaceful.  The light scent of apples hovers in the breeze.  And all the cares and worries of the week seem to fade away.  I’m fairly certain that whoever came to the conclusion that an apple a day keeps the doctor away, meant to give ‘picking’ an apple the credit.

Or even sitting in an apple tree.  That works too.  In fact, if you can’t remember the last time you climbed an apple tree (or any tree in general), I highly recommend it.  It does a brilliant job of reminding you that even though you spend your weeks sitting at a desk and worrying about silly adult troubles, you are still you.

You’re still a kid at heart and capable of childlike wonder.

Try it. 

Climb… climb… climb…

My bestie Ashley said it best, when she, my sister, and I had finished our apple-picking adventures this weekend.  She said that the hour we had spent at the orchard was like a mini-vacation.

And it was.  We left feeling so carefree and relaxed.

We came home afterward, feeling a tad bit shivery and red-nosed but very much content and happy, just the same.  To warm up, we ate sweet potato soup and then baked up a batch of mini, apple-cider donuts.

Hmmm, I wonder if God created apple orchards, specifically realizing that one day, very busy people would need a quick escape from it all.  It makes me happy to think about that…  Sometimes, we forget that God designed the beauty of creation for us to enjoy.

When you look at it that way, you can almost see the comfort that comes with walking through an apple orchard as a hug from heaven.  🙂

Sometimes, life really is about the simple moments…

What’s your favorite autumn activity? 

(Thank you to my sister Sarah for taking these beautiful pics). 

6 thoughts on “A Walk Through an Apple Orchard

  1. I love jumping in a pile of leaves. I know it completely messes up the perfectly made pile, but I just can’t help it. It calls to me. 🙂 This makes me want to visit an apple orchard! I have never been!

  2. My favorite autumn activity is watching the colors change. It’s pretty magical and always makes me think to myself, “Good job, God.”

    I have never been to an apple orchard. I definitely want to go now though!

  3. Oh my gosh, these pictures are amazing, and the food looks delicious. I have never been in a place to go apple picking in the fall. I need to add it to my list of things to do someday. The pumpkin patch suffices for us for now 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  4. Gorgeous ladies in lovely photos! I too go for peaches 🙂

    My boyfriend and I went hiking the other day and I would describe that as a mini-vacation. It was work and I would still call it that! Shocking.

Leave a Reply

