Gloucester and Rockport

Nate and I decided to celebrate the evening of our fifth anniversary by spending some time along the coast.

So after our parents left Boston and headed back home, Nate and I drove to the Wingaersheek Inn in Gloucester, MA.

We had never stayed there before, but were drawn in by the price and location.  At $160 per night, it was more affordable than most of the other coastal inns.  And it was a close drive to Rockport, MA, which is where we wanted to spend the following day.

It wasn’t anything fancy, but I fell in love instantly.  It was very clean, and the décor — a blend between New England coastal charm and grandmotherly coziness — instantly made me feel relaxed and at-home.

Goodbye, Stress!

The bathroom also had the largest Jacuzzi tub I have ever seen.  Like I’m pretty sure it was the size of my bed back home.  😉  Soooo, yeah, I was pretty much sold.

Continuing on with the New England theme, Nate and I decided that we just wanted icecream for our celebratory dinner!  Not that we only eat icecream for meals, here in New England.  But, still, we are pretty fond of it.  So we found a nearby Friendly’s and chatted over a couple of soda’s…

… and hot fudge sundaes.

Hey, we were celebrating, so please don’t judge.  😉

The next morning, we drove the short distance to Lobsta Land for some breakfast.

From the sounds of it, they serve a pretty delish selection of seafood options.  But breakfast was pretty amazing too, so don’t let the title scare you off from stopping in for breakfast.

Then we drove to Rockport to spend the day window-shopping at the adorable and quaint shops.  Honestly, Rockport never gets old.

One of my favorite shops sells the cutest watering cans that are painted and shaped like animals.  (There was even an owl!!).  I haven’t bought one yet, but I’m pretty sure that one day I won’t be able to resist the temptation.  😉  They are just SO cute!!

After amusing ourselves with the many shops, we found some flat rocks and sat by the ocean for awhile.  I could have sat there all day and felt the cool breeze against my skin.  Listening to the waves and the gulls can be so calming….

Oh, and of course, we again had to walk by the red pier featured on The Proposal.  After all, who doesn’t love visiting a spot that has been featured on a Sandra Bullock movie?  😉

Oh, and who doesn’t love dreaming?

I found this little shop called My Sea Baby, and they sold so many adorable onesies and baby hats.  Someday, God willing, I will have my picture taken at this very same spot, except I’ll have a big ol’ belly and an excuse to shop.   😉

But this time around, I just posed… and then went on my merry way until I met Gumby.

He’s actually much taller in person, but just as green as I thought he’d be.  Still, he’s quite friendly and happily agreed to take a picture with me.

The troll, on the other hand, was a bit more reserved.

But he seemed to get along just fine with Nate, so I guess I was just a bit too loud for his liking.

Well, all I can say is that our sixth year of marriage has started out pretty great.  🙂  I can’t wait for our next adventure!

10 thoughts on “Gloucester and Rockport

  1. First of all, I am loving that striped cardigan! SO cute! Right up my alley! And Rockport looks AMAZING! Those little shops are precious. It looks like something from a magazine! Your room in the inn is so precious. We’ve only stayed in a handful of inns, but have loved them every time. 🙂 The shot of Nate with Sven the troll is hilarious! They do look like they got along just fine. 😉 And no rush or anything, but I will be SO excited when I see a shot of you outside that shop with a sweet baby bump! 😀

  2. What a beautiful place. I am now dying to shop in Rockport, and I also kind of want a hot fudge sundae. Good thing I’m already in bed, or I might be tempted to reach for a scoop of ice cream!

  3. That’s so nice that you guys were able to get away for your anniversary.
    And there seems to be so many cute destination towns in New England that you’re always posting about!

Leave a Reply

