Here’s to the Memories

Tomorrow, Nate and I will have been married five years.  🙂

FIVE YEARS!  Can you believe it??

In some ways, it feels as though we said ‘I do’ only yesterday.  But then again, we have experienced and seen so much in the past five years that in other ways, it feels as though we’ve already been together for a lifetime.

He’s my best friend.  The one who ‘gets me’ even when others don’t.  Who loves me through the good and the bad.

And I honestly can’t imagine life without him.

And obviously the past year was a tough one.  Much, much tougher than anything we could have imagined.  But still, when I look back over the past five years, I see only good.  I see all the blessings and special times together.  🙂

Our life together started in a humble little apartment in the city.  I suppose it wasn’t much, at least not to a stranger looking in.  But to us, it was home.  The coziest, happiest little home that we could have imagined.

It was there that we celebrated our first Christmas…

… and adopted two kittens.  Stitchy was a mischievous little thing,

while Highstreet was ever the handsome gentleman.

Nothing really has changed there, has it?  😉

We saved and penny-pinched until we had a down-payment for our own home, and we were soon putting up a Christmas tree in our very own living room.

That was a pretty special Christmas.

Of course, they all were pretty special.

In the past five years, we’ve gone zip-lining…

….moped riding…

…camping…

… and walking.

We’ve traveled to Washington DC, to the Caribbean…

… to Vegas…

… to the Hoover Dam…

… to Hawaii…

…and — of course — to every state in New England.

And my favorite part of all these things we’ve done is that we did them together.

So many good times shared together.  So many memories.

And I cannot wait to see what we do next… together.  🙂

You and me, Mr. Nate, together forever.  🙂  Here’s to SO many more years!

9 thoughts on “Here’s to the Memories”

  1. My favorite line in this whole post: “And my favorite part of all these things we’ve done is that we did them together.” YES! I am definitely with you there! I just love this! And I love that you guys like to travel together like us! It’s so fun when you are with your best friend. 🙂

  2. Aww, this post is just too sweet!! You and Nate are perfect together and I just love the love you have for each other. You two have been through A LOT in the past year and many couples would let that tear them apart or get them down–not you two! LOVE IT!

  3. HOORAY!!! (Sorry I’m late commenting). You guys are adorable and I’m so happy for you. You two give me hope that marriage doesn’t suck and can actually be awesome. ha. Love you!!

Leave a Reply

