Some NYC foodie treats

I just realized that I never talked about my foodie adventures in New York City; and — well — if you’re a foodie, or if you’ve ever been to NYC, then you know this is the best part.  🙂

Or at least the tastiest part…

Hello, Godiva!

*

SARABETH’S

If you were to ever spend more than two hours with my sister and I, you would quickly realize that she and I love to eat.  It’s not an I-can’t-control-myself eating, just to clarify that!  But we’re foodies to the core.  We love trying new foods and restaurants.

And to be honest, we’re pretty much always hungry.

So for her and I to make it to noon on the first day of our trip to NYC without any snacks was nothing short of a miracle.  Thank goodness, our travels took us past Sarabeth’s, which also turned out to be a bit of a miracle.

Or, well, it was pretty darn amazing anyway.

Thirsty beyond belief, Sarah and I both ordered the unsweetened iced T, which was served in clear glasses brimming with ice.  We were each also served a small pitcher of iced T to refill our glasses, when needed.  It was pretty much the cutest thing ever, which only made us fall in love with the cozy café that much more.

Being the difficult guests that we were, Sarah and I both ordered the Farmer’s Omelette, which was stuffed with leeks, ham, potato chunks, and gruyere cheese.  To top that off, the bread was freshly baked, the raspberry jam sweet, and the butter whipped.

You know how sometimes you pay a lot for a meal that leaves you disappointed?  Well, this  was worth every bit of the $17 per plate we spent, and we’d go back in a heartbeat!

Ahem, as you can see by our polished-off plates!  🙂

*

Naturally we needed chocolate to wash it all down.  😉  After walking our way back to Times Square, we browsed through the Hershey store and were given free chocolates to try.  Oh, yeah!!

The store sold everything chocolate, from chocolate-scented bubble-bath and lotions to T-shirts.  I thought about buying something, but I don’t want my chocolate addiction to become that obvious.

We also walked through M&M world, which was pretty ridiculous.  Like ridiculous in an amazing, colorful, chocolatey way!

I’m talking M&M souvenirs galore… and — of course — lots and lots of M&M’s to buy.

*

ESS-A-BAGEL

On the second day of our trip, Sarah and I walked to Ess-a-bagl, which we heard baked the freshest of bagels and served all types of flavored cream cheese.  I ordered the cinnamon raisin bagel and Sarah tried the pumpernickel raisin.  They were both really good, but I don’t think there was anything extraordinary about them.

Definitely worth trying through, if you’re ever in the area and in the mood for a bagel.  🙂

Pinkberry

Sarah and I may have cheated and gone to Pinkberry for Fro Yo, instead of trying someplace new.  But it’s worth mentioning.  Their Fro Yo is probably one of the best I’ve tried, right up there with Red Mango.  It was such a refreshing, light treat on the hot day…

I mean, just look how happy Sarah is!  She’s brimming with so much Fro Yo joy that flavor bubbles are dancing over her head.

*

Peanut Butter & Co

Now if you’ve been reading my blog for any amount of time, you’ll know it’s no secret that I’m in love with Peanut Butter & Co peanut butter.  And for the longest of times, I’ve wanted to eat at their little café in NYC.

The flavor of the sandwich my sister and I split really was amazing.  The bread was fresh, and our sandwich had honey peanut butter AND the Nutella spread in it.  So it was pure happiness stuffed between bread.

What wasn’t happy was the guy who took our order.  He kind of ruined the experience with his rudeness, but — hey — it was still a good sandwich (even if it was quite expensive).

I guess the bottom line is that it was a fun place to visit, and I don’t regret the trip there at all.  But I’m happy that I can make my own PB sandwiches at home with the Peanut Butter & Co peanut butter.  🙂

*

JOE’S PIZZA

In the same area of the peanut butter cafe, was pizza!  (Yes, we had pizza, a bagel, AND a peanut butter sandwich on the same morning.  But we split most of it, so that we’d have room to taste all of the carb-a-licious delights).  😉  Anyway, Sarah and I had heard good things about Joe’s pizza, and it didn’t disappoint.

 

It’s a simple, thin-crust pizza; but the crust is really good, as is the sauce.  And the staff was extremely friendly.  Once they knew Sarah and I just wanted one slice of pizza to share, they cut the slice in half for us and gave us an extra plate.  🙂

*

Are you getting full yet just reading this post???  🙂

Of course there were SO many places… WAY too much to be covered in one blog post or in one stomach.  Sarah and I would walk down one street, talking about how full we were, only to pass a delightful bakery and exclaim, “That looks SO good!”

So many choices.  So little room in our tummies in just two days.  🙂

Hmmm, I guess we’ll just have to go back someday!

8 thoughts on “Some NYC foodie treats

  1. I love NYC pizza! That was one thing I did try when I had a very short nanny gig in New York (it was a trip with a family, and I and one other girl watched their boys so they could have a night out). But I have never been to the Hershey or M&M store! That is definitely going on the list!

  2. Food prices in NYC can be outrageous, eh?
    Sarabeth’s looks really cool, and I’ve heard good things but $17 for an omelette seems steep.
    Then again, you can find some pretty cheap offerings too. Aside from (ridiculously expensive) cookies my favourite thing that I ate in NY was a cheese filled arepa on the street. It was like $3 or something.

  3. All this food! I love it! If I told you where we ate while we were in NYC you would be horrified. Okay fine I’ll tell you, but don’t say I didn’t warn you… we ate at the Hard Rock Cafe. Yes, a chain. Yikes. I was in college and going along with the group. Forgive me. 😉 Anyway, my foodie adventures in NYC were pretty non existent, haha! That pizza looks absolutely delicious! Makes me glad that I’m having pizza for dinner! 😀

Leave a Reply

