You are HERE

Whoever came up with that ever-familiar saying of “The grass is always greener on the other side of the fence” doesn’t get enough credit for their genius.

I mean, maybe they weren’t quite Einstein.  But still, when it comes right down to it, they put into words something that every single one of has faced at one time or another.  In my book, coming up with a handful of words that capture a feeling the entire human race can relate to is quite the accomplishment.

The grass is always greener. . .

Lately, I’ve tried to make myself ever aware of the truth this statement holds.  Although our life right now is very familiar and running like a well-oiled machine, Nate and I are standing before a giant new chapter, and the winds of change are about to turn the page.

And I’m SO okay with this that sometimes I forget to appreciate where I am now.

Of course, someday, when I’m buried up to my eyeballs in dirty diapers, I’m sure I’ll look back to those ‘goodl old days’ and wish I was still living in business attire and spending my days at the office with humans my age.

Eh… maybe not.  😉

But still, there are good things to be said for where Nate and I are right now.  We have money.  We can go away whenever we want.  And Saturday mornings are still for sleeping in.

It’s pretty awesome, actually.

And so, when a friend of mine recently gave me some advise for the future, I was particularly interested.  She and her husband recently became empty-nesters, as their youngest just left for her freshman year of college.  You should have seen her and her husband celebrating their new-found freedom.  They were so excited, you’d think they had won the lottery.

But, they made it very clear that they had enjoyed every single moment of raising their children.  They had embraced the sleepless nights, endless diaper changes, and first steps.  They enjoyed the soccer games, school plays, and visits to potential colleges.  And now??  Now they were looking forward to traveling, quiet evenings at home, and turning bedrooms into sewing nooks.

“Tony and I always made it a point to enjoy the stage we were in,” she told me.  “And we really did.  We really did enjoy every single moment, no matter how busy we were.  We knew it would be over too fast.”

I was impressed by this, because I so often become engrossed by the next step.  For me, the next step will be to start a family, but – right now – I should be living in the moment and enjoying all that this chapter of my life has to offer.  And someday – if God does bless us with children – I’m sure the diapers-and-sleepless nights stage will seem to drag on forever, but then it will be over so fast.

And one morning, I will wake up, turn to my husband, and realize that I too am an empty-nester and a new chapter will be starting for us.

Life isn’t about what’s over that fence or about the next step.  It’s about now.

You are HERE.  Learn to love it.

I know that I am.  🙂

15 thoughts on “You are HERE

  1. Fantastic post!

    I have this very same issue. Always looking to the next step when life is (like you said) right now. It’s so easy to cruise on by without looking out the windows.

  2. I have a lot of friends and relatives who did it all at once – got married in their (very) early twenties, had kids right away, went to school, and established a career, all within a matter of about three years. Maybe that works for them, but I have always been grateful for the choices I have made and each of those life events have had their own specific chapter. The kids chapter is yet to come, and I’m LOVING not having kids at this stage of my life!

    • I agree! We all choose different paths, but I am glad that Nate and I waited a few years and were able to spend this time together, just him and me!! 🙂

  3. You are much cuter than Einstein, have better hair, and you still have very wise words to share! I needed this reminder (don’t we all?!) because the last six-ish months, especially right now, have been rocky and I just keep hoping and working on things getting better. I’m sure I can find many things to appreciate about right NOW and right HERE though. Thanks Nicole!

    • Awww, thanks! That is true… For all his brains, Einstein wasn’t much of a looker, I suppose. 😉 And there are definitely rocky times that are more difficult than others; and although I hope you find things to celebrate here and now, I also hope that sunnier, easier days are ahead for you, my friend! 🙂

  4. Yes, absolutely! I’m so with you! I love just being present and enjoying where I am right now. This time in my life won’t happen again. I look forward to starting a family and am excited about everything that will come with that, but I also have loved every minute of our “just us” married life. I really hope that it continues through each stage of life. That we don’t just blink and realize that life has passed us by. Great advice from your friend! 🙂

    • HA! That’s awesome… And now that you comment about that, I have no idea why I said “in my book…” instead of “in my opinion…” or something like that. LOL!!! I guess referring to imaginary books is okay when I’m writing a post late at night. 😉 Too funny!

  5. This is such a great post, and I agree with every word!! My husband and I were such avid travelers before we had our son, and part of me worried that I would miss that jet-setting freedom very much. However, now that my son is 2, I often look back at our pre-kid life and realize I don’t miss/yearn for it…I look back on it with AWESOME memories, but I am now loving the (crazy, dirty-diaper-strewn) phase that we are currently in. If you’re always looking to the past (or the future) for a happier time, you’ll never be happy today! Great advice 🙂

Leave a Reply

