Samantha’s Fire Roasted Corn Chowder

Once upon a time, I thought I’d be a food blogger…

In that moment (a lifetime ago in bloggy years), it made sense.  Food blogs were the in thing, and I wasn’t sure that anyone would be interested in anything else.  My sister had her own very successful food blog.  And I liked food.

Scratch that.

I loved food.

I quickly learned, however, that food blogging required more than just an appetite.  Like I never seemed to remember to take a picture before I ate my breakfast.  I didn’t particularly care for the food items that were the diet of the most popular foodies.  And English major or not, there are only so many ways that one can describe an apple.

I kind of felt a loss of words after ‘red’, ’round’, and ‘delicious’.

That being said, I still love trying new recipes and then sharing them with the rest of you!  So I guess maybe I’m a full-time foodie, but just a part-time food blogger.  😉

Tonight, I tried the Fire Roasted Corn Chowder that Samantha adapted from Glutton for Pleasure.  I definitely should have roasted the corn a tiny bit longer, as it didn’t smooth in the blender as it should have.  But — MAN — talk about some yummy flavor!

In fact it was so yummy that I forgot to take a picture of the soup ladled in our bowls!   (Hey, I never claimed to be a food blogger).  😉  So I’m borrowing a pic from Samantha’s blog.  🙂

corn chowder

It’s not your typical corn chowder, as it has a bit of kick to it.  Oh, yeah, and bacon.  (To quote Nate, “What’s not to like?  The soup starts with shallots, onions, and bacon.”  After his third bowl, I was convinced that he really liked it).

If you’re looking for something different to warm up those cooler nights that are just around the corner, I’d definitely recommend this chowda.  It’s chockfull of sweetness, spiciness, and comforting goodness.  And it’s definitely going to be a fall staple in my house from now on!

Thank you SO much, Samantha, for sharing!!!

Fire Roasted Corn Chowder

  • 8 ears of corn, husked
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 4 ounces bacon, diced
  • 4 large shallots, diced finely
  • 1 large sweet onion, diced finely
  • 6 cloves garlic, diced finely
  • 5 cups chicken stock
  • 1 bunch cilantro leaves, finely chopped  (I skipped this, just because I’m not a fan of cilantro)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground chipotle pepper
  • juice of 1 lime

Directions

Roast corn direct over the flames of a barbecue heated to medium heat. Turn the ears every 2-3 minutes until kernels start to char slightly. Also on the barbecue, roast the bell pepper turning until each side has blackened.

Cut kernels off cob into a bowl.

Place the pepper while it’s still hot into a paper bag or a bowl covered tightly with plastic wrap to let it steam for a few minutes; this facilitates peeling. Skin the pepper, remove the seeds, and dice it finely.

In a large pot heat oil over medium-high heat. Add bacon, garlic, onion and shallots and cook for 8-10 minutes, or until softened and staring to brown.

Purée half the corn and half of the red pepper with half of the stock in a blender or food processor. Add the puree and all remaining ingredients to the pot. Simmer for 15 minutes.

Squeeze with lime juice before serving.

6 thoughts on “Samantha’s Fire Roasted Corn Chowder

  1. I’m glad it worked out!
    Mine is usually chunky too, which I like.
    I have to agree with Nate on the bacon. It pulls everything together. And I love all the smoky flavours from the roasted corn and pepper, the bacon, and the chipotle pepper.

  2. This is sadly the opposite of what I would eat (no meat or garlic or spicy here and I’m not a big fan of corn). But John would love it! So maybe I’ll make it some day if I screw up and need to make it up to him haha. (Let’s be honest, that never happens! 😉 ) You make it look so pretty and sound so tasty!

    PS – You’re one step better than a food-blogger… you’re a life-blogger! You get to cover lots of things! WOO!

Leave a Reply

