End of Summer Haul

I was going to do my first-ever Shopping Haul Vlog, but then the goldenrod decided to bloom overnight.  So thanks to the pretty — but pesky — yellow flower, I am sneezing constantly, and my voice occasionally cracks.  I thought I’d spare you the disaster and show you something a little less frightening.  😉

My end-of-summer clothes haul!!

As most of you know, my hubby accidentally donated the wrong two bags of clothes to Salvation Army earlier in the year, leaving me  without 90% of my summer wardrobe.  He generously gave me a gift card for my birthday so that I could stock up on my wardrobe, but — sadly — I wasn’t impressed by the summer fashion this year.  Thanks to a recent shopping trip or two, however, I was able to find a few summer items… and I was able to buy some items for the upcoming cooler seasons.

So here are a few of my favorite finds!

I LOVE cardigans, because they allow me to pull my nice summer tanks and T’s into the fall and winter seasons.  I do refuse to pay $50 per cardigan, however.  I found these four, fitted sweaters in clearance sections of The Loft and The Limited.  I didn’t pay more than $25 per sweater, and one sweater’s price had been lowered to $15!

*

Leopard print isn’t something I wear a lot, but I do love it in moderation!  I kept walking past this top in The Loft, tried to ignore it, and then told myself that I had to at least try it on.  Of course, I instantly fell in love with it and had to take it home.  😉  (It was 40% off, after all).

The top is a bit shear, but I’ll make it work-appropriate by layering it with a cranberry sweater.

*

Tank tops have been my love these past couple of months.  Thanks to them, I actually made it all summer without getting my usual awkward farmer’s tan.  🙂  Plus I love how light and cool they are, when it’s so hot out!  I raided a clearance bin at The Loft and left with these five tanks for only $5 each!  (I know, I know, all but one is striped.  Hey, at least I admit I have a problem).

*

This dress from Banana Republic is a combination of modern and hippy-era inspired fashion.  I tried it on, because my mom and sister said that I had to, not because I thought it had any potential.  As usual, however, they were right, and I ended up loving the way it fit and looked.  And the price wasn’t too shabby either.  Normally $80, I paid $30 for it.  I’m thinking that paired with leggings and some tall boots, this may be a perfect outfit for Thanksgiving this year!  🙂

*

Sometimes, I’ll try on a top with so much potential, that I’ll go back and grab another top, just in a different color.  These light, sparkly tops from The Loft were on sale for about $20 each.  They’re fine to wear just like that, but I can add a nice sweater to make them perfect for the holiday season.

*

Ever look for a top that’s fine for a casual night out but that still has a bit of ‘nice’ to it?  This short-sleeved top is inspired by a sweat-shirt, but it’s ultra-light… and the beaded neckline gives it that ‘nice’ feel.  So while you can wear it for a casual evening out, you can pair it with some nice jeans and a necklace, letting you still feel fashionable and trendy.

*

But sometimes you want to  skip the ‘nice’ look altogether and just go for casual, comfy, and cute!  Although I love dressing up, I feel that I’m also leaning towards the country-inspired look this year.  I’m all about flannel shirts from Old Navy and these jeans (purchased from TJ Maxx for $16) with the rolled-up cuffs.  I’m currently on the lookout for a pair of moccasins to complete the outfit!

*

And last but not least, I’ve been on the lookout for a red purse and found an adorable one at TJ Maxx for only $20.  I also desperately needed some new shoes, since mine were stinky enough to kill a small animal.  (No joke!).   So I was very excited to find American Eagle flats at Payless on sale for only $14!  (The black ones in particular are extremely comfy!).

Where have you been finding some good deals lately?

11 thoughts on “End of Summer Haul”

  1. How do you find so much stuff?!?!?!??? I try 30 things on and might end up with one or two if I’m lucky. Normally zero. Ugh. I need hellllp. Your shopping powers are amazing!

    Hope you feel better soon. We want a video! 😉

  2. Ahhhhh!!! I love it all. (Totally bummed that the shopping haul vlog was a no-go though.) You, my friend, can find the deals. I’m in awe!

    If I HAD to pick a favorite piece, I’d probably go with that leopard top. So cute! And anything that makes it okay to mix black and brown is PRACTICAL in my book.

  3. I’m in the “you can never have too many cardigans” camp. Maybe that stems from being an office worker? They work for all seasons.
    I’m willing to shell out a good chunk of money for a good cardigan though because I wear them so much and I want them to last. Especially if it’s a colour or pattern that doesn’t go out of style, like black or grey.

  4. What a great shopping trip!! I’ve been revamping my wardrobe since I’ve never really invested in it since I got married (4 1/2 yrs ago). I actually went to Nordstrom and got a bra fitting and found a great bra, along with a very reasonably priced shirt and cardigan.

Leave a Reply

