DC Trip – Day 3

Nate and I have this really bad habit of skipping meals whenever we’re on vacation.  We get so caught up in the sight-seeing (or sometimes in being completely lost) that we tend to go hours without food.  This usually results in our becoming quite cranky…

and the frustration only intensifies when we have a difficult time actually finding food at that point.

So we were kind of excited when we exited the L’Enfant subway station on Tuesday and found a neat line of food trucks waiting there for us.

How convenient!  We were actually going to get breakfast and lunch on the same day….

Since we don’t have Chick-fil-A up in the north, we decided to hit that food truck… just so that we could say we’ve eaten there.

As I was munching on my chicken sandwich, I casually read the bag it had come in…and my heart hit the floor.  I had just discovered that their sandwiches are fried in 100% peanut oil.

And Nate is deathly allergic to peanuts.

I wish I could say that I calmly asked him to step away from the sandwich.  My reaction was more along the lines of hyperventilating, waving my arms around in a panic, and then slapping him in the face until he dropped his lunch.  **sheepish grin**  Long story short, however, Nate’s guardian angel stepped in (or the food truck had been out of peanut oil), because Nate didn’t have the severe reaction he should have.  *

For the rest of the day, we walked the streets of DC, taking in as many sights as we possibly could.

Among others, we saw the Department of Education Building…

… the United States Capitol…

…the Cannon…

…the Library of Congress…

… memorials…

…the White House…

… (here’s a better pic of our president’s home)…

… the Washington Monument…

… the Lincoln Memorial…

… and so much more.  🙂

It was SUCH a fun day, but we definitely did a ton of walking.  The hotel pool was definitely enjoyed that evening!!  🙂

According to the Chick-fil-A website, they use refined peanut oil which has been stripped due to extreme temps.  So many people with peanut allergies won’t have the typical, severe reaction.  Good to know!!

4 thoughts on “DC Trip – Day 3

  1. Random thoughts: 1) I’m glad Nate was okay, especially since an allergic reaction would’ve crushed your DC plans. 2) I love your bag! 3) Isn’t it a bummer that there’s construction on the Washington Monument? Looks so odd. 4) How the heck do you skip food?!? Food is my favorite aspect of traveling!!

  2. I absolutely love food trucks! And I’m so glad he didn’t have a reaction, though I never knew that before (and I live in Chickfilaland). Love all the site pictures of the places you visited!

  3. OH my goodness – my heart jumped when I read the part about Nate being allergic to peanuts. So glad nothing came of it. That would have really put a damper on the trip.

    Ahhhh – I love DC. One of my favorite cities to visit. The Lincoln Memorial is my fav.

  4. Oh my goodness! I am so glad Nate was okay! Also I am glad you got to experience Chick Fil A even if it was a semi traumatic experience haha! So cool that you guys got to see all the big sites! Both Christopher and I went to DC as kids, but we didn’t appreciate it as much as we would now. We want to go one of these days!

Leave a Reply

