Keeping Our House

Well, you know what they say…  When God closes a door, He opens a window.  🙂

Nate and I have decided to not sell the house.  Despite my love of this place we call home, I was a little frustrated that we won’t see a much lower mortgage payment before we hopefully begin the next phase of our lives together.  But door after door was just closing.  New England has an extremely expensive house market, and the more affordable homes were in areas that Nate and I just didn’t feel comfortable with.  We want our future kids to grow up in the country, just like we did; but some of the neighborhoods we were looking at, in more affordable areas, are rundown and even depressing.  We struggled with the idea of making such a large purchase in an area that was headed in the wrong direction.

A couple of nice houses also happened to be directly across the street from stinky (and maybe even unhealthy) factories.  And one house we did like was unfortunately so far out in the country, we’d have to drive almost 45 minutes to get to a grocery store.

Although I have to admit that becoming the Wilderness Family would make for a great blog.  😉

We also did look at houses in the city, and those were lovely homes, but we wouldn’t be saving enough money every month to make the move worth it.  Sooo, in the end, we came to the very definite conclusion that it’s just not the right time for us to move.  (It was just becoming very apparent that moving would mean we’d end up in a house that needed a new roof very soon, in addition to other expensive repairs.  It also meant an end to family walks after dinner and Sunday afternoon strolls through the campground.  Meanwhile, our house is pretty sturdy and only needs cosmetic touch-ups.  And it’s in the perfect area to raise children.  So would the lesser mortgage really save us worry?).

BUT, we did out that we’re qualified to refinance the house we have now.  So our monthly payments will go down a bit…   And, hey, every bit helps!

In addition to that, we’ve decided to meet with a landscaping friend to try to pick his brain and find out what we can do to the side of the hill, so that Nate won’t have to mow it.  This will pretty up the yard, but will also make the yard more manageable for Nate.

So that’s that for now.  🙂

Am I a little bit nervous about finances still, when it comes to living on one salary?  Of course I am!  But then again, I’m realizing that you really do just have to make the decision you feel is best in the moment…and after you’ve prayed about it a whole lot.  I’ve talked to a good handful of parents, and they all assure me that it was tight for them at first too.  Yet they made it work.

And even though I can’t see how things will work out, I feel that they will work out pretty great.  🙂  It’s all about one day at a time…  One prayer at a time… One careful financial decision at a time.  And it’s about making the journey together.

10 thoughts on “Keeping Our House

  1. I’m so glad you are keeping your house. 🙂 And regarding one income…when my husband and I first got married, I couldn’t see how we were even going to make it on two incomes. Then we did, and I didn’t see how we could make it on one income. But we got pregnant, I started working less and less, and here we are, living on one income. 🙂

    • Thank you SO much for this comment!!!! It’s stories like yours that give us hope. 🙂 I have been told by a lot of friends that they didn’t think they’d be able to afford a house on one salary… but then they did. They just stuck to a budget and made it work. Thank you again for commenting!! 🙂

  2. Sounds like you are in for an amazing adventure. That’s always my assumption when doors close, it means God is about to do something unexpected and amazing.

  3. YAY!!!! Blessing in disguise? Plus you don’t have to do the actual ACT of moving!!

    Perhaps you can just have triplets your first pregnancy and then daycare would cost more than one person could even make, making it obvious that one parent should stay home with them! haha. Did I just wish triplets on you? Crap, you might kill me now… 😛

    Have a lovely weekend!!

  4. Awww, good for you and Nate! It sounds like you two really talked/thought/prayed things out! I’m excited to hear how your landscaping friend can help! Woo hoo!

  5. Sorry, I’m just catching up on your blog right now.

    I think the decision to move is a really tough one, and it seems like (especially for you) it wasn’t the right choice in your heart. At least you guys explored your options before deciding to sell so you can have some peace of mind about your final choice not to.

    I can’t recall if Nate is working right now? If you guys are currently living on two salaries why don’t you practice living on one salary and put the income from the other person into savings. That way you`ll be prepared for when you definitely have to live on one salary and you’ll have some savings ready for all the expenses that come with a new baby.

    • ‘EXACTLY’ to the living off one salary! Nate and I have been pretty much doing just that, which is why we have money in the bank to refinance. And now we’re restocking the savings, again focusing on putting my salary in the bank and getting used to living off of the one salary! (And no need to apologize! I need to catch up on blogs too! Summer is SO fun but so busy). 🙂

  6. I have to tell you, I am so happy for you that you will be able to keep the house! I mean, it sounds like a good decision all around for you guys and obviously it would’ve been fine if you had needed to move, but I know how much you love your house there! So I’m glad you are able to stay for now at least! 🙂 Sorry that I am SO behind in blog reading. Things have been crazy here! But I’m catchin’ up now! 🙂 Oh! and ps. I’m pretty sure that moving to the wilderness and blogging about it is how Ree Drummond became so famous. Just sayin’ 😉

Leave a Reply

