Eye Spy

Ommetaphobia is the fear of anything coming into contact with one’s eyes.

Ommetaphobia-extremia is my fear of anything coming into contact with my eyes.

For me, a trip to the eye doctors is like being dropped onto a deserted island (occupied only by cannibals and wild animals) with just a pack on my back for survival.  In fact, I’m pretty sure that I’d prefer the deserted island.  I like the odds so much better.

So for the past few years, I’ve ignored the fact that I probably could use a very mild eye-glass subscription.  I’ve always stubbornly said that I refused to get a pair of glasses until I turned 30.  And then I turned 30.  So I ran out of logical excuses.

Since everyone knows that it’s perfectly logical to refuse to get a pair of glasses until you’ve reached a certain age.

However, I recently found myself at the eye doctor’s for a routine eye exam.  Well, there was also the eye-exhaustion issue, caused by long hours at the office.  I was experiencing some major dry-eye problems, including blood-shot eyes.  Trust me, the Twlight series is lying to you about all that vampire stuff.  There is nothing attractive about red eyes.  I’ve been walking around with red eyes for days and not one person has become infatuated with me or asked for my autograph.

I’m pretty sure that all I managed to do was scare one poor man, who – after catching sight of me –proceeded to throw garlic in my direction.

Oh, wait, that was Nate.  I think he was just hoping for more garlic in the spaghetti sauce.

Anyway…

My eye-doctor is extremely thorough, and he was concerned about one of the symptoms I was experiencing.  This resulted in test after torture test.  And after he had ruled out pretty much everything, he decided to do a pressure test on both of my eyes, as one final precaution.  For this procedure, your eyes are numbed and then a rubbery-looking instrument is pressed lightly into your eyes to find out whether or not they’ll explode.

Or something like that…  All I know is that it wasn’t fun.

At the end of my eye-doctor visit, I was declared perfectly healthy, but I was given a very mild prescription for glasses to wear on occasion.  The doctor was way too excited to write me that prescription, in my opinion.  When I admitted that it was my first pair ever, he clapped his hands with glee and asked me if I would wear them more than the prescribed only-when-your-eyes-are-feeling-strained-moments.  I told him that I wasn’t sure… and he told me that eye-glasses can be such an accessory.

And here I’ve been investing in bracelets

I was also told to put mild, eye-drops in my eyes 4 times a day.  Of course, he might as well have told me to shoot myself in the foot 4 times a day.

I don’t do eye-drops.  They count as something coming into contact with my eyes, and I don’t care that this makes me a total baby.  Throw me onto that deserted island.  I don’t want those drops on my eye to land.

Get it??  On my eye to land?  Eye land?  Island?  Yeah, I probably should get my sanity checked  sometime soon too. 

Anyway, getting eyedrops into my ultra-sensitive eyes became a team effort over the next few days.  Poor Nate had to physically hold me down, while I tried to concentrate on not blinking before he could squeeze the drops out.  Of course, this was pretty much impossible, because all I could focus on was the little drop of water that was going to land in my eye.  And on the lucky occasion that a drop did land where it should, my entire body jerked as though it were being  electrocuted.  (Sadly, I am not exaggerating in the least here).

Of course, this was followed by me smiling and saying, “Oh, that actually felt good.”

Nate did get frustrated the first 95 attempts and muttered that we should invest in a large clamp to hold my head down.  I was a little hurt, because my head isn’t that big.  Surely a normal sized clamp would do the trick.

But flash-forward a few weeks, with Nate’s help, I’m actually putting my own eye-drops in now.  Oh, yeah, I am the eye-drop queen.  And the red eyes have gone down, except for at the end of especially long days of staring at the computer.  (Still no one asking for autographs, by the way).  As for the glasses, I still haven’t gone to pick up a pair quite yet.

One brave step at a time, after all.  🙂

22 thoughts on “Eye Spy”

  1. I’m sorry about your sensitive eyes, but in all honesty I’m much more sorry about the image of those terrifying red eyes floating around in my brain all day. THANKS.

  2. My husband has that phobia! It is for rrrreal. I’m happy you have come a little ways in the eye drops. Glasses will be a breeze. Look how well you are wearing this sunshades. 🙂

    1. Thanks, Angelia!! 🙂 I’ve noticed the eye drops are getting MUCH easier to put in, so I think that with time, I may even overcome this phobia! Totally one day at a time!

  3. This post made me laugh because it totally reminds me of me and my husband…except he’s the one who won’t touch his eyes. I’ve had contacts since I was 14 and am basically fine with sticking a finger in my eye any darn time I please. It totally freaks him out and he can’t stand to watch me take them in/out of my eyes!! I can at least tell you that it’s very easy to adapt to, and I’m sure those drops will get easier and easier to handle. 🙂

  4. Oh Nicole, this cracked me up! I too hate anything coming near my eyes. Thankfully I had 20 / 20 vision the one time I went to the eye doctor as a kid and I still can see without problems so I’m assuming that I’m good. 😉 Anyway, kudos to you for taking this brave step! Soon putting those drops in will be like second nature (well, I hope anyway, ha!). 🙂

    1. I hope so too! Ha ha!! And I hope that your eyes continue to stay 20/20! Had I not had the dry eye issues, I probably still wouldn’t have gone to the doctor, to be honest. 😉 My eyes are still very good and only need the slightest hint of help when they’re tired. So I probably would have moved the I-need-glasses-visit to 35, had it not been for that issue! 🙂

  5. So dramatic! I am positive you will look sexy with glasses! (I mean, I’m anticipating Nate will think that at least).

    I’ve had glasses since I was 15 and contacts shortly after that because of sports so I have no issues with eyeballs really. (I have dry eye too, btw. Sucks. My eyes hate me on windy days and at nite if a fan’s blowing on me).

    1. Nate is the same way as you. He’s worn contacts forever and has absolutely no issue with putting eye drops in his eyes! I guess he and I balance each other off… I’m the drama queen when it comes to anything touching my eyes. And he, on the other hand, is like, “Whatever… Just throw it into my eyes, I don’t care.” LOL!

  6. Hahah! You totally have the Twilight look going with those red eyes. Sprinkle some glitter on your skin and step out into the sunlight and people will really want your autograph. Or will run away in fear because they’re afraid. One or the other for sure.

    The fear of things coming in contact with your eyes is intense. I’m glad that you’ve mastered the eye drops!

  7. I am so with you on the eye thing. My mom gave me some drops when my allergies were acting up last week, and it was comically ridiculous trying to get them into my eyes. I have really good eye sight, though I still worry about eye strain. I want to make it to 35 before I go (and then add five more years then too 🙂 )

  8. I have had contacts for over 12 years so I am a total pro with sticking things in my eyes! My husband, on the other hand tears up if I even talk too much about eye stuff- its hilarious to me! 🙂 Good job on taking care of your body.

    1. It’s been interesting to read everyone’s comments! It seems as though every relationship has one person who freaks out about eyes… and then one person who’s totally cool about that sort of thing! 🙂

  9. I tried contacts once, and had issues. I decided to pull them out and try them again somewhat recently, and ended pinching my eye ball. No fun.

    Maybe I shouldn’t have told you that.

    I have several different phobias, so I can totally relate. Hope it continues to get easier!

    1. Ha, ha! Pinching an eyeball most definitely sounds like something that would happen on the worst day ever. 😉 And thanks! I’m sure it will get lots easier with time!!

  10. This seems like a pretty common phobia. I know a few people who just cannot have anything touch their eye. I think it’s kinda funny because I don’t really have any problem with things touching my eye (but i’m also into vaccines and needles, so there’s that).

    I’m excited to see your new accesory 🙂

  11. Haha!! This post had me laughing out loud (for real.)

    I pretty much hate anything touching my eye too! Although I did enjoy my last eye doctor’s appointment. There was this low lighting room with all this equipment and I felt so relaxed…like I was at a spa or something..lol! Now the DENTIST on the other hand? Major freak out!!!

    (p.s. Somehow, you could STILL pull off the vampire look while still looking totally gorgeous…haha!)

Leave a Reply

