A Visit to Rockport

Over the weekend (on the hottest day I can remember hitting New England in a long time), my sister Sarah, hubby Nate, and I decided to take a drive out to Rockport, MA to visit the shops and to spend some time along the coast.

I’m pretty sure that if I had money to live absolutely anywhere, Rockport would be one of the top contenders. 

As my sister so accurately described it, it’s a town after our own heart. 

It’s quaint. 

Bustling with adorable shops and restaurants. 

Colorful with fishing piers and coastal houses. 

Warm in the summer with a salty breeze.  Oh, yeah, and expensive…  But we don’t like that last part so much, I suppose.  😉

Still, it’s a wonderful place to windowshop or to find unique items that make perfect gifts.

I could walk around all day, just browsing the shops and people-watching.  (Although preferably on a cooler day, as the sun was pretty intense this time).  🙂

For lunch, we decided to eat at the Top Dog, which is the best hotdog place I’ve ever been to.  Which I suppose isn’t saying much, because hotdogs are … well… hotdogs.  But these are actually delicious! 

And creative!

The hotdog choices all have fun names and unique flavors.  Like the Purebred, the Seeing Eye Dog, or even the Junkyard Dog.

I ordered the Shaggy Dog, which was a hotdog topped with fresh coleslaw and BBQ sauce.  It was so delicious that I could hardly believe I was eating a hotdog.

Sarah had eaten there before and had raved that its food wouldn’t disappoint.  She was right.  This restaurant did most definitely hit the spot!

Of course then I was really thirsty, so I washed it all down with a big ol’ horse trough. 

Kidding!  Kidding!!!  I promise that I do not drink out of giant horse troughs, no matter how thirsty I am.  🙂

After lunch, Sarah directed us to Gloucester, where she took me and Nate on a walk that led us to some great views.  She knew about some hidden staircases to climb, which was pretty cool.  (Even if she took us down a wrong path, which led us to some cliffs, which caused us to have to turn around and walk the path over again… and so we almost all died of heat stroke in the process).  😉

Still fun though, heatstroke or not.

There was even some historical significance to where she took us, but we all couldn’t read by this point so we have no idea what the plaques said. 

At least soaking our toes and eating icecream cooled us down before insanity set in.  🙂

Bye, Rockport! 

Until next time!! 

11 thoughts on “A Visit to Rockport

  1. What a picturesque little town!! I love all the fun photos you guys took. My favorite is the horse trough one. Yummy. 🙂

    I’m not a big hot dog fan, but I totally want to try the Bad Dog. Bacon, cheese, and onions? I’m in.

  2. This was so much fun!!! And I LOVE Top Dog. Which is saying a lot since I’m usually not a fan of hot dogs in the first place…but these are just so fun and delicious! 😀

    (p.s. can’t wait for our next endeavor! 😀 )

  3. That sounds like a really nice day trip! It sucks that it was so hot though 😦
    This summer’s weather has been really unpredictable so far. We’ve had SO MUCH RAIN it’s insane. I’ll take that over extreme heat though 😛

    • I’ve been joking about our weather here, because it has been one of two extremes — torrential rain… or brutal heat. There has been no in-between at all. So strange!!

  4. I had been holding off on reading this post because Rockport was one of the places on my list for a New England vacation and I knew it wasn’t happening this summer 😦 Instead of making me sad though, reading your post makes me excited to get there some time soon! Thank you so much for sharing your little trip.

    Oh and I totally would’ve gotten the German Shepherd hot dog (with sauerkraut) if, ya know, I ate hot dogs. Hot dog with kraut, hold the hot dog? haha. What did Nate and Sarah get??

    • You definitely will go one day and it will be as beautiful as ever. Besides, think of it this way. If you went this year, then your New England trip would be over. This way, you have plenty of time to map out all of the things you want to do and see, when you do go someday! 🙂

      Nate and Sarah both got the Bloodhound hot dog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

