Waikiki Beach, Here We Come!

Nate was all excited to get his first smoothie ever in Hawaii.  In fact, the minute we received our tropical beverages, he motioned to my purse and said, “Aren’t you going to take a picture?”

I was quite proud to realize that I have trained him so well.  😉

He also was quite excited — as I was — to drive out to Leonard’s Bakery.  One of my dearest work buddies, who recently retired, had told us that we absolutely had to try a Malasada from Leonard’s.  And when Sylvia suggests we do something on vacay, we do it, because she is officially our personal tour-guide!  🙂

And as always, Sylvia most certainly did not steer us wrong.  The malasada is rather like a donut, only Leonard’s serves them fresh and warm.  Ours were filled with a sweet, cool custard (also fresh and homemade) that makes my mouth water now just thinking about it.

Reason # 342 as to why we should go back to Hawaii someday.  😉

Next on the agenda was to go to the Honolulu zoo, where we laughed at turtles, named elephants, and sang to monkeys.  (Yes, my husband sang to a monkey.  I was kind of jealous… but only a little).  The zoo was actually a beautiful place to visit, not only because of the exotic animals but also because of the beautiful plants and flowers showcased there.

From the zoo, we were actually able to walk to downtown Waikiki and the beach (which was a very handy, and affordable, parking arrangement).

And immediately, the day turned into one of my favorites yet.  It’s pretty much a girl’s paradise.  One side of the main street was lined with boutiques, shops, and restaurants; and the other side of the street was the most beautiful ocean and beach that I have ever seen.

Oh, let’s not forget to mention that the water is crystal clear and warm like bath water.

Here in New England, you dive into the ocean with the realization that your body will be frozen numb by the time you get out. But in Hawaii, you can stay in the water all day and not want to get out again…

In fact, you might begin to convince yourself that you never want to ever leave the island… ever.

I mean, there’s just so much culture…

… and exciting new things to try…

… and beauty absolutely everywhere.

Yeahhh, best day ever!

(…one more Hawaii recap ahead…)  🙂

10 thoughts on “Waikiki Beach, Here We Come!

    • California is going to be amazing though too!! I’ve only landed there at the airport, but someday I hope to actually stay and visit the beautiful state. I can’t wait to see your pics so that I can experience California through you! 🙂

  1. thanks for mentioning my name! I feel honored. Those malasadas were fantastic. I had a pineapple one and a coconut one……….and chocolate! We bought a box and brought them back to the room.

  2. I am not a beach person but it does look gorgeous. Sign me up for the elephants and the malasadas! 🙂

    It’s gonna be hard to choose your next vacation spot now!

  3. Bahahaha! Oh I love it! Nate’s whole “aren’t you going to take a picture?” thing… perfect! I remember the first time Christopher did that too. It’s the best! 😀 Everything looks amazing, friend. Gorgeous photos. I would LOVE to be at that beach!

  4. I love that you’ve trained Nate to know that you will always be taking pictures for your blog. Jimmy is the same way haha!! We’ll go out to get coffee and he’ll say “do you need to put your drink next to mine so you can take a picture for your blog?” HAHA. Yep, definitely trained him!

    Anyways. I love the pictures. If I went to Hawaii, I don’t think I’d EVER leave. Especially because of the warm ocean water! I’m going on vacation to the Outer Banks in a few days and I think the water temps are going to be in the 60s…. BRR!

  5. Ahhh, that looks and sounds absolutely heavenly. Hula classes – I’d be terrible (my hips just don’t move like that) but what a cool experience!!

    And I bet the zoo was like a whole other world between the gorgeous setting, flowers, and cool animals.

Leave a Reply

