Pineapples, corn on sticks, and shrimp trucks

If there was one thing that I had to see while I was in Hawaii, it was a pineapple plant.  Back home in New England, we appreciate our fruit-picking seasons, but there most certainly aren’t any pineapple plantations.  So what better place to see our first pineapple plant than at the Dole plantation?

If Disney is the happiest place on earth, then I’m pretty sure that the Dole Pineapple Plantation might be the most colorful.

It was so beautiful!

Before we took the Garden Tour, however, we decided to go through the Pineapple Garden Maze…. where we spent a sorry amount of time being lost and confused.

About halfway through the maze, Nate muttered, “We’ve never done a maze before.  Why did we pick one that was featured in the Guinness Book of Records to start?”

Good question, my dear.  A very good question indeed.

We ended up cheating slightly in the end so that we could end the maze faster, because we were feeling the heat and starting to get very, very hungry.  We instantly rushed over to the café to pick up a Dole whip…  It was every bit as amazing as I had imagined it.

Creamy, frozen, and flavored with pure, tangy pineapple.

Of course, you can’t just have icecream for lunch.  You need something else to fill you up and keep you satisfied…

Like, how about corn on a stick from Uncle Woody’s?

Two words to describe this… Ah-mazing.  😉

Seriously, I’m going to dream of this roasted corn, so perfectly seasoned with garlic, salt, pepper, and butter.

Yeah, and you thought my jokes were corny sometimes.  It was only a matter of time before my pics took a turn in that direction too…

Hmmm, is it my imagination or does Nate totally pull off this look?

Anyway, we then drove to Waimea Falls Park where we hiked to a beautiful waterfall that had been featured on Lost, Hawaii 5-0, and will be featured on The Hunger Games: Catching Fire.  The walk there was paved and easy, but surrounded by a lush, tropical forest that took my breath away.

Normally you can swim at the waterfall, but the gushing water was too intense this particular day so swimming wasn’t allowed.

That was fine with us, since we were hungry again.  (Surprise, surprise)

For this particular foodie treat, we stopped at Giovanni’s Shrimp Truck, which wasn’t anything to look at but it sure was delicious.  We split an order of the shrimp scampi, which was served with sticky rice.  Double yum, with lots of garlic flavor!  (Although double-messy too, because the shrimp was served with the shell still on).

By this point in the day, we were pretty exhausted (since we were still recovering from the time change and flight), so we drove back to the apartment.  The drive wouldn’t have been so long, if I hadn’t continuously begged Nate to pull over.

I just couldn’t get over the scenery…

I wanted to take a picture of everything…

I mean, even the trees were photogenic!

But after plenty of detours and stops along the way, we finally made it back to the apartment, where we decided to make use of the heated, salt-water pool.

I could sure handle having one of these in my backyard… 😉

(… stay tuned for more Hawaii recaps!)

Wait… Gasp… I almost forgot to show you this!  I saw my first pineapple plant.  🙂

7 thoughts on “Pineapples, corn on sticks, and shrimp trucks

  1. Hi Nicole

    Beautiful pictures reminds me of my trip. I’m so happy for you! I shared these pictures with my granddaughter, Alyson, and she enjoyed your face on the ear of corn 🙂

    Can’t wait to see more!

  2. I love looking at your gorgeous Hawaii pictures. It is such a beautiful place! It’s not near the top of my travel list but it’s somewhere that I would like to go one day. The scenery is so pretty!

  3. Glad to see that you’re back – and that you had a great time! And I think that making your way back to the hotel longer was worth every second – your photos are fabulous!

  4. Your first pineapple plant!! So cool! We have talked about planting one in our yard, but they just take so long to grow and I’m so impatient, haha!

    Also… oh my goodness, it all looks amazing. The scenery is breath-taking! I can see why you needed to pull over so often to take pictures! Glad you guys made it out of the maze – I’m terrible at those, haha! I get so caught up talking with whoever I’m with that I entirely stop paying attention to where I’m going. 😉

  5. That photo of the palm trees! GAH! So gorgeous. How the heck are you gonna decide which photos to hang in your house?! There are so many good ones!

Leave a Reply

