Not my Favorite Kind of Shopping… but it is still shopping

I have a confession to make…  I don’t always like clothes shopping.  I mean, sure, I’m a bit of a fashionista; and on a normal day, I could shop for bargains from morning ’till dawn.

(This is how I get my picture taken without letting anyone see my nose, which is still red thanks to this stubborn cold).

But then there’s bathing suit shopping.

I mean, there’s nothing like posing half-naked in front of a full-length mirror under overly-bright lights.  😉  It’s one of the reasons why I never go bathing suit shopping without my secret weapon — my mom and sister.

If I step out of the dressing room feeling particularly disgruntled about how I look, they quickly assure me, “It’s not you, it’s the bathing suit.”

You can’t put a price on confidence-building encouragement like that.

Much to my incredible delight, this shopping trip wasn’t painful at all.  I found a cute bathing suit at the first store I went in, which was Athleta.  This store is a bit expensive for my wallet; but in my opinion, it’s really worth spending the extra money.  Their gear is definitely top-quality and built for comfort, style, and lasting durability.  The suit fit so well, and I felt confident in it.  (Which is how you want to be when you’re walking along the beaches of Hawaii with your husband).

Speaking of Hawaii, I leave in a couple of weeks.  Can you believe that?  And will you forgive me if I start talking about how excited I am, now that it’s so close??

Anywho, I went on a shopping trip this weekend with my mom and sister in the hopes to find some accessories and new tops for the trip.  I’m still fighting that stubborn chest cold, but my mom and sister assured me that if I got too tired, they’d push me around the mall in a carriage.  😉

Thankfully, it didn’t come to that, although — again — you can’t pay for such support.  They also fed me, which was a bonus, because I get hungry when I shop.

Sadly, shopping for work clothes wasn’t as successful this trip, but I did find this cute top at The Limited.  It was 40% off, so I was all over that.  (Oh, yeah, and it has stripes).  😉

Other than that, I think it’s just about time to start PACKING for my trip!!!  🙂  AWWWWWW!!!!!!

8 thoughts on “Not my Favorite Kind of Shopping… but it is still shopping

  1. I LOVE the pattern on your swim suit. OW OW BABY! Also, I was not aware that Athleta had stores; I stopped getting the catalog because I wanted to order everything. haha.

  2. STRIPES!!! Yeah!

    I love the cover-your-nose picture LOL! You seriously make me laugh constantly!

    I’m glad you found a great bathing suit. I think expensive bathing suits are worth it, too. They fit better and last longer! I can’t wait for you to visit Hawaii! YAY!

  3. I loathe bathing suit shopping. Even if I’m having a rare “I like the way I look” day, one glance in the mirror under those cruel and punishing fluorescent bulbs can be crushing. You are so brave!!! Love that top, by the way. I don’t have a Limited in my mall, and boy, am I sorry.

  4. Taking a support system when you go bathing suit shopping is always good! Definitely a good way to take a not-pleasant-experience into a good one. 🙂 Glad you found a suit you love so quickly. I am definitely digging the pattern! SO pretty!

Leave a Reply

