Look of the Day

Today left me wishing that red noses were in style.  Not a super-crazy, flashy red shade like Rudolph’s, since we all know that only he could pull off a shiny sniffer like that.  But just a nice, pinkish tinge that even three layers of makeup can’t hide.

Wouldn’t that be nice?

Either that, or maybe a holiday during which it is acceptable to wear a paper bag over one’s head?  That sort of holiday would have been rather convenient today… to, you know, hide my pinkish-tinged nose.

Okay fine, it really is super-crazy, flashy red like Rudolph’s.  That’s how I know — firsthand — that only he can pull that look off.  Trust me on that one. 

I suppose I should have this whole chest-cold thing figured out, since I do tend to get bronchitis… a lot.  But it just really never does get any easier.  And my nose doesn’t get any less red.  And, seriously, is there a reason why my hair gets extra frizzy on days I don’t feel well?

Of course, it probably doesn’t help that I topped off today’s look with an outfit that I’m not entirely sure even matched.  I sort of rolled out of bed, after having not slept much all night, and proceeded to reach for my comfiest pair of pants, comfiest blouse, and even my most comfy flats.  In that moment, the comfy-factor totally trumped color or style.

It was an eclectic look anyway.

Who knows.  Maybe it’ll be the IN look someday… along with red noses and paper-bag hats.  😉

Anyway, the day at the office was long, because my voice still isn’t quite back.  Not to mention the fact that I had to blow my nose every minute that I wasn’t coughing up a lung.  AND I nearly had a heart-attack induced by fright when I caught sight of myself in a mirror.

No exaggeration there.

So at 5pm sharp, as I grabbed my things and walked through the parking lot, I’m sure my face didn’t hold its usual smile.  I was rather lost in thought… and stuffy… and felt foggy, if that’s even possible.  I was almost at my little yellow car, when a vehicle pulled up beside me.

The woman in the car was someone I’ve seen once or twice in the restroom or walked into work with in the past. I don’t know her name or even which department she works with. But she has always been friendly and offered welcoming smiles.

“I hope you have a really good night,” she said, waving.  Then she smiled brightly and drove off.

I don’t know what inspired her to do that.  I hope it wasn’t because I had an I-don’t-feel-well scowl on my face.  😉  But whatever the reason, she took those couple of minutes to extend a warm greeting to someone she hardly knows…. just because they were walking through the parking lot alone and maybe looking as though they could use a bit of cheering up.

And you know what?  That little greeting totally made my night.  And for awhile, I even forgot to worry about how I looked… or even how sick I felt.  🙂  And, well, that’s pretty cool.

What was your look today? 

4 thoughts on “Look of the Day

  1. How awesome that the woman took some time out of her day to tell you to have a nice night. I live for moments like that! They make me so happy.

    I love the new look of your blog!

  2. You are one tough cookie. I hope Nate made dinner for you! 😉 I always go to work when I should actually take the day off. I’m sure some co-workers get frustrated by that but I’d much rather suffer through sickness so I can use my days off for fun stuff!

  3. Ohh new blog look I like it. My nose is so red too..I have a baby cold and thankfully it’s not lasted long, but my nose has been put through the ringer with it!

  4. I love how a greeting like that can make your day just so much better! I’m sorry you’re sick, though. I hope you start to feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

