Fitness Friday — Taking the Stress Out of Eating

It was kind of a rough year, as far as fitness is concerned.  Exercise was the last thing on my mind.  And to make matters worse, for the first time in my life, I started to stress eat.

I can almost pinpoint, to the day, when it first began.  I’m honestly never tempted by donuts, but a particularly difficult day found me waiting in line for a chocolate-frosted piece of fried dough.  And then there were the french fries.  The more-indulgent beverage choices.  Icecream.

There really was no self-control involved.  The slightest hint of a craving was indulged.  After all, I had earned the right to be comforted.

The funny thing is that as easy as it was to step into that pattern of eating, it’s not so easy to shut off.  Your taste buds kind of get used to getting their way and suddenly veggies don’t seem all that exciting.  Besides, you just had a long day at work.  You were feeling kind of emotional.  After all that, you deserve something way more indulgent than a carrot, right?

Of course, while indulging is okay, it’s not okay to use food as a crutch that gets you through the day.  Because trust me, it’s not that good at getting you through.  Instead, it just kind of leaves you feeling sluggish and bloated.

All that to say, I’m happy to report that as I’m gaining control over those emotions, I’m also finding motivation to take my health back.  Keeping a food journal and really focusing on making wiser food choices is becoming part of my routine again.  Also, the knee is also doing very well (I’ll have a review soon on a knee brace that I’ve been trying out), and I actually ran two miles every day this week.  (That’s a huge improvement over what I was able to do earlier this year.  YAY!).

And one thing I’ve learned throughout this entire process of stress eating is that it’s important to find healthy foods that you love and really enjoy.  That way, you don’t dread the choices you do have.

Soooo, I was excited when two companies recently sent me some of their healthy products to review!!

Chobani

Chobani sent me 12 assorted Greek yogurt flavors to try.

Greek yogurt is ultra creamy, which I love; and I also appreciate that Chobani yogurt is an all-natural option.  Many of the flavors are also a lot less sweet than the typical yogurt flavors you might be used to eating (a.k.a. I might be used to eating), because there isn’t as much added sugar.  If you’re a fan of plain yogurt, then every single one of these flavors will be a winner in your book, for sure!

If you’re like me, and you like a little bit more sweetness to your yogurt, then you definitely need to try pineapple, blueberry, strawberry, strawberry banana, and — my absolute favorite — peach.  I honestly could eat their peach yogurt every single day forever.  It has the right hint of sweetness and lots of sweet little chunks of peaches.

Soooooo, absolutely delish and my absolute favorite!

For added crunch, sometimes I’d add some Chex cereal and a few blueberries.  Be still my heart… It’s the perfect end-of-day snack to hit your sweet tooth and to leave you feeling satisfied.

***

Larabar

Larabar sent me a little box of their all-natural granola bars to try.

If you’re a Biggest Loser fan, then you might remember Jillian Michaels introducing some of the contestants to Larabars.  And I have to admit, this was my first time ever trying one too.  So I was kind of excited and didn’t waste any time before digging in.

And the verdict?

These are so crazy delicious, my friends, and packed with nutrients that leave you feeling full and satisfied.  They’re a perfect pick-me-up for after a workout or even if you had a light lunch and you need something to get you through the rest of the day.

I did find the Apple Turnover to be a tiny bit too sweet; but had I been in the mood for ooey-gooey sweetness, then I imagine it would have really hit the spot.  🙂

My absolutely-favorite flavor?  Definitely Bananas Foster.  It reminded me of banana bread with walnuts….

And who doesn’t like banana bread?  🙂  Oh-so-delicious!!!

Any favorite snacks that I should check out??

**Note — By stress-eating, I mean letting my emotions get the best of me and always choosing foods for their comfort factor… as apposed to trying to put healthy foods into my body.  I will always be a strong advocate of moderation and the fact that no food is necessarily off-limits.  I think it’s important to try to make  healthy food choices whenever possible, but you only live once.  And life is too short to live without dessert.  🙂

5 thoughts on “Fitness Friday — Taking the Stress Out of Eating

  1. I’m glad you mentioned “getting a hold of the emotions and then getting your health back.” I’m a strong advocate of dealing with the root of the problem and then focusing on everything else. Otherwise everything just gets covered up, only to rear its ugly head over and over again. My problem is that I usually eat too LITTLE when I’m stressed and I run too much. Which inevitably hurts my body in the long run…not a good thing!! Balance is so important in life.

    For snacks, I’ve been loving the old school kashi chewy granola bars…haha! They’re a nice light morning snack and they actually keep me feeling pretty full until lunch rolls around. Also, cheese and crackers is a fave, along with peanut butter on triscuit crackers. Or the peanut butter larabar which tastes like a peanut butter cookie…yum!!!

    And a big YAY to the chobani!! My favorite Greek yogurt. 😀

  2. I’m glad to hear that you’re addressing the emotions behind stress eating, because I think that’s what is important to get at! Many people try to fix things on the surface, by dieting, etc., when it’s way more important to find out WHY they have adopted new habits, and how to deal with the emotions behind everything! GREAT post!!

  3. Chobani is my favorite! Black cherry, baby. Also have you tried their new(ish) yogurts with mix-ins? I like the coconut yogurt but I forget what comes with it… chocolate and almonds maybe?

  4. Mmm, love the yogurt! Although for some reason, I only eat it in the summer. It just seems too cold in the winter.

    Perfect timing on this post – I have been really trying to rein in my I’m-gonna-eat-whatever-I-want phase and this was a good reminder. 🙂

Leave a Reply

