When it Rains, It Pours… but that’s okay, because I like the rain

You know how the all-knowing ‘they’ often claim that when it rains, it pours?

Well, apparently, they’re onto something.  Sometimes, it’s like one small, not-so-great situation or incident snowballs into an avalanche of mammoth proportion.  And all you can do is pull out your extra-wide umbrella and hope that it holds.

But on the other hand, there’s also a possibility that very few people care to mention.  What if it’s pouring good things?  I mean, isn’t that just as possible?  What if one, rather-pleasant situation leads to another, and another, and then an even better situation, until you can’t help but grin like the Cheshire cat who has found the perfect resting spot in a tree?

(Or like a Highstreet who has found the perfect napping spot in a bathroom sink?  That’s pure, kitten contentment, my friends).

What if sometimes, that rainstorm is a good thing?

What if life gives you lemons and you actually like lemons?

What if your glass is only half full, but you weren’t a huge fan of drinking water to begin with?

What if when it rains, it pours…and you throw on your galoshes and dance in the puddles?

I kind of feel like that’s happening right about now…

I bought myself a new calendar and some fun pens the other day and spent an afternoon filling in the blank squares with bright reminders of some exciting, upcoming dates.  And I couldn’t help but smile from ear to ear, as I realized that these next 7 months are going to be insane.  In a good way!

There are the three, upcoming banquets at which Nate will receive an award in recognition of his bravery in the line of duty.  (One of these awards will whisk us back to Nevada, while the other will take us Maryland).  There’s the upcoming trip to Hawaii, which is so close I can taste it; and there’s another hilariously fun 5k planned with two of my gal pals.  There’s the whirlwind trip to NYC with my sister Sarah.  There’s turning 30 in June, which is kind of a big deal.  And there’s celebrating 5 years of marriage in October.  (Also a big deal).

Not to mention the other typical, summer activities like berry picking, cookouts, going out for icecream, sitting by campfires, fireworks, and trips to the ocean.  There is a lot coming up over these next few months.

So much so that I decided that a calendar was not enough.  🙂  I’ve decided to start a photo-album / scrapbook to capture all of these memories in one place.  I’ll take a favorite picture from each event and keep an album, so that when I need a smile, I’ll pull it out and remember all those amazing experiences.  From hopefully getting to see Washington DC on our Maryland trip to restocking a wardrobe, I plan on embracing the adventure over these next few months and focusing on the good, rather than dwelling on the things that could pull me down.

So, yeah, maybe that whole “when it rains, it pours” saying doesn’t have to be so bad after all.  🙂

10 thoughts on “When it Rains, It Pours… but that’s okay, because I like the rain

  1. I love this whole post! You are so clever. I love the way you came up with fun reasons for why all those “not-so-great” things (like life handing you lemons and a glass half full, etc) were really not bad at all! I smiled all the way through this post. 🙂 I’m so excited for your summer plans! I’m still a little bummed that his ceremony is in Maryland instead of down south, but we will make that meet-up happen eventually! 🙂

  2. I love how you turned the rainy day matters of life into something amazing…it’s so important to be on the positive side of things. 😀

  3. You are so clever and inspiring! I love lemons. And I’m a sipper, so you’re right – glass half full is still gonna last awhile! Inspiring post.

    And rock on – you have an fun-filled-action-packed-nonstop year in front of you!! What a blast!

  4. Wow! So much to look forward to!! I love new pens and calendars and photos and feeling like good things are coming your way. Props (and thanks) for the positivity!

    Also, you know I live near Maryland… just sayin 😉

  5. So much excitement coming your way–you SO deserve it! I can’t wait to read about all of your adventures (and all of your shopping 🙂 )!! Great post.

  6. This post made me smile from ear to ear! I expected to read something bad… but it was full of goodness and happiness! Fresh pens, awards, traveling, birthdays, anniversaries, cute cats…. life doesn’t get better than that!

  7. Pingback: Saturday Link » The Norwegian GirlThe Norwegian Girl

Leave a Reply

