A Not So Helpful Helper… but at least he tried

Months ago, as Nate was finishing up the basement, he decided to help me out by taking two large trashbags stuffed with clothes to Salvation Army.  His intentions were good, of course.  But what he didn’t realize was that I had moved the two bags meant for Salvation Army to the upstairs closet to make it easier on him.

And what I didn’t realize was that my entire summer wardrobe was being donated.

At first, it looked as though everything was gone.  But it turns out that there was a small crate of clothes that didn’t get touched.  So as far as summer clothes go, I now have two dresses, a handful of sundresses, four work blouses, and a few cute tanks. But my favorite summer T’s and my really nice work clothes — every single one of them — are gone.

My initial reaction was to freak out and cry until I could hardly breathe.  Then I started to rant about how my only hope was to join a nudist colony.

Yeah, it wasn’t pretty.

I’m mostly frustrated at how wasteful it is.  That’s a lot of money being thrown away, as well as time.  It took me years of bargain, clearance-rack shopping to get my wardrobe to where it was.  And it wouldn’t be as horrifying if I didn’t have a full-time job that requires professional attire.

Visions of me showing up to work wearing those four blouses every week for an entire summer come to mind.

Bible verses also come to mind.  “Don’t store up your treasures on earth.”

AND

“Thou shalt not murder.”  😉

I know I can’t blame Nate, because it wasn’t the smartest thing in the world for me to store my summer wardrobe in trash bags in the basement.  So I immediately assured him of two things.  I don’t blame him…  But I also need to be able to vent about it to him sometimes; so whenever I do, I’m not doing it to rub it in his face.

So all things considered, I think I handled things pretty well.

And I most definitely did not write this post for sympathy, I promise.  I’ve decided that I will take this as a challenge.  And I shall be blogging about how I restock an entire summer wardrobe… on a budget.

I will however, take some encouraging cheers to assure me that I’ve got this.  😉  Because honestly, I am a tiny bit freaked out.

11 thoughts on “A Not So Helpful Helper… but at least he tried

  1. I am hyperventilating for you!!!! I told Mike, and he slapped his hand to his head in shock, most likely picturing what would happen if my entire summer wardrobe was accidentally donated to goodwill. Luckily, there are stores full of adorable summer clothes just waiting to be bought, and fun trips to the mall with your sister and your mom just around the corner.

    Deep breaths, girl. Deeeeep breaths.

  2. That’s kind of funny, but not really. I am sure you’ll laugh about it in the future, although it isn’t funny right now. Now you get to go bargain shopping and raid the thrift store racks (if that’s your thing). So, happy hunting!

  3. Oh noooooooooooo! That is terrible. What a hassle. BUT there are some great deals to be had and you’ll gradually build your summer wardrobe. It’ll be kind of fun to get all new stuff. Hit up Ross, TJ Maxx, Marshall’s, for the trendy, colorful stuff. Spend more on the classic basics that you can mix and match and keep for a long time. Those are investment pieces. Oh and focus on the accessories that you already have – those can really mix it up and keep it interesting. Good luck – keep us updated on the progress!

  4. Oh my dear gracious! I am so sorry that this happened! I know you are looking at the positives and already making plans for how to replace the pieces (which by the way I am looking forward to hearing about!), but yiiiiiikes! Ditto to Gina… lots of deeeep breaths!

  5. YAY for 50% off discounts at Ann Taylor Loft!!! And YAY for TJMaxx and Marshalls.

    And for the record, I’m still freaking out for you. 😉

  6. Psh. You, your sister, and your mom will have the best time with this “challenge!”

    If you saw my wardrobe options, you’d probably freak out for ME. My clothing selection is pathetically small. (See why I asked you guys to be my personal shoppers?!)

    You’ll be fine. Enjoy it! 🙂

  7. Pingback: Restocking the Summer Wardrobe – JUST LIVE IT!

Leave a Reply

