Miracles

It was the third day in the hospital after Nate’s assault that I realized we had more than just Nate’s physical injuries to worry about.

Despite the doctor’s encouraging reports of Nate’s progress, it was obvious that full recovery would take weeks, if not months, and that he would need around-the-clock care.   My request for FMLA leave from work was immediately approved, but it also meant that my time off would be unpaid.  A counselor assigned to me by the hospital suggested that I go back to work and leave Nate’s care to the hospital staff, because she told me that reality could mean our losing our house if a second paycheck wasn’t coming in.  I was horrified at the prospect of leaving him, but then wondered if staying would be the responsible thing to do.

How could I tell Nate that we had lost our home?

The decision was clearly made for me, however, when I softly explained the situation to Nate.  When I asked him if he thought I should go back to work, his eyes welled with tears, and I knew that I would be by his side, no matter what.  There was no other option on the table.

The house was nothing but floorboards, a roof, and some walls.  Our home was wherever we were together.

So that morning, as he slept, I gently took his hand, closed my eyes, and prayed, “God, I can’t worry about money right now.  I can’t physically worry about it; I can’t emotionally worry about it.  You’re going to have to do something.”

Three hours later, the president of the union handed me a check for that month’s mortgage.  That night, money started to pour in from men and women that Nate worked with, enough to cover the following two months mortgage payments too.

That’s how I know it’s going to be okay.  Because while Nate had his share of miracles last summer, I had my share of miracles too.  And while there have been hard days in the past, and there will be hard days in the future, I know that I serve a God who is a whole lot stronger than any circumstance that could be thrown our way.  🙂

Thank you SO much, everyone, for your support.  Have I told you yet that you rock?

Because, well, you do!

10 thoughts on “Miracles”

  1. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: you two give me hope that love+marriage can be amazing!

    What a huge relief it must’ve been that you had one less thing to worry about it. That’s good stuff 🙂

Leave a Reply

