Vegetarian Chili

I did it!

I did my workout on the exercise  bike tonight for the first time… in like forever.  No, seriously.  It was my first time ever using our exercise bike.

It was an interesting experience, to be honest.  For the first ten minutes, I chugged along while watching TV, and I kept thinking about how bored I was.  For the ten minutes following that, I pondered how strange it was to be sitting down and yet feeling so out of breathe and sweaty.  For the last ten minutes, I wanted Nate to put me out of my misery already.  😉

Running will always be my passion and stress-release.  But it was amazing to burn some calories, to build up a sweat, and to feel the muscles in my legs screaming… all without feeling knee pain.  🙂  I mean, it was a really good workout!  (You should have seen me trying to walk up the stairs after on my jelly legs).

After the workout, I enjoyed a chunky bowl of homemade vegetarian chili.  I found the recipe on Taste of Home, and it’s definitely a keeper!  It’s spicy without being too much so, chock-full of fresh veggies, and at only 130 calories per cup, you can eat a heaping bowl of it without any guilt.  (Ahem, not that I’ve ever let myself feel guilty over eating a big ol’ bowl of chili).

Oh, and don’t forget to top it with a bit of cheddar cheese!  🙂  Yum!!

Vegetarian Chili

Ingredients

  • 4 medium zucchini, chopped
  • 2 medium onions, chopped
  • 1 medium green pepper, chopped
  • 1 medium sweet red pepper, chopped
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 cans (28 ounces each) Italian stewed tomatoes, cut up
  • 1 can (15 ounces) tomato sauce
  • 1 can (15 ounces) pinto beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 can (15 ounces) black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 1/4 cup each minced fresh cilantro and parsley
  • 2 tablespoons chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin

Directions

  • In a large pot, saute the zucchini, onions and peppers in oil until tender. Add garlic; cook 1 minute longer. Stir in the tomatoes, tomato sauce, beans, jalapeno and seasonings. Bring to a boil over medium heat. Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 30 minutes or until heated through, stirring occasionally.
11 thoughts on “Vegetarian Chili

  1. I think we might need to get bikes 😉

    My office has a chili cookoff coming up so I’ve been on the lookout for good recipes. I actually don’t care much for chili so I end up making chili-with-a-twist (like seafood chili – past winner! or vegan quinoa chili – 2nd place!) I’m thinking this year I might try a vegetarian chili with black beans and pineapple. YUP, pineapple. Maybe I could use yours as a base and just add pineapple. Not sure yet.

  2. The bike is tougher than it looks, eh?
    Have you ever tried spinning? It’s so intense. It’ll change your opinion about biking forever.

  3. I made a similar recipe just the other week! Still have some in the freezer. It is the perfect post-workout meal on a cold day. I love the idea of adding zucchini!

  4. happy for you that the workout went fine! I went to the gym yesterday, first time in a month, and it felt great! It also “provoked” me into buying a lot of fresh fruit, so I`m trying to stay of sweets this week, and keep to the good&healthy stuff!

Leave a Reply

