Working out… even when the knee won’t work with you

I’ve never been very patient when it comes to recovering from a running injury.

As of late, Nate has been reminding me — over and over again — that the doctor told me not to run for 6-8 weeks.

“But he just picked a number out of his hat,” I said quite confidently, as I tied the shoelaces of my running shoes the other day.  “And it’s week 5 now.  So what difference does one week make?”

Apparently, a week can make all the difference in the world, according to my husband.  He doesn’t seem to think that doctors generally pick numbers out of hats, when they’re telling you not to do something for a specific amount of time.  Also, my driving a standard and having to use my leg to push down the clutch apparently doesn’t count as knee exercises.

You can’t blame a girl for trying. 

In my defense, I went an entire week without knee pain, which was where the temptation started.  I mean, maybe I had imagined the knee pain.  Or maybe it somehow fixed itself overnight, and I was suddenly capable of running again.

False, false and false. 

(Here’s a little peak at the work-out corner of our nearly-finished basement).

I ran just one mile on Sunday night and then one mile on Monday night before the familiar knee pain came back.  Although it’s not as intense as before, it’s still there.  And it’s a reminder that no matter how much I love running, and miss running, and want to be running, I physically can’t rush this.

So I found myself, for the first time in a long time, lying on the floor with weights around my ankles as I did leg-lifts to strengthen the muscles above and below my knee-cap. I kept telling myself that I was still building muscle and that this was every-bit-as-athletic as my normal routine, because this would get me back to where I wanted to be.

So even if it was not what I wanted to be doing, there was nothing to be ashamed of. 

This is about the time that both of my cats decided that it would be fun to roll around on the floor with me… and on top of me.  I won’t lie, it’s a little frustrating when you’re trying to look all confident and strong while working out, and then suddenly you have a cat writhing around between your legs and trying to grab at your shoes.

Great…  Now I’m a cat lady with ankle-weights.

Oh, well, we all have to start somewhere, I suppose.  😉

12 thoughts on “Working out… even when the knee won’t work with you

  1. You ARE an athlete! Injuries happen to all of us and we all have to take a hiatus at some point. You’re doing all of these other exercises because you are a runner…not *instead* of. And you’ll just be THAT much stronger once your knee gets better.

    Hang in there! 😀

  2. OMG I just fell in love with you for driving stick. ME TOO!!! Does Nate find that super hot about you? 😉

    By the way, just doing *something* is a victory in my book. It’s a lot better than crashing on the couch with a giant bag of chips in hand.

    • You know, Nate probably would find it hot, except for the fact that I drive a yellow car. And he’s never really been a big fan of that. LOL!! But to me, a yellow car that is standard is the epitome of hot and adorable and FUN. So, eh, I bought it anyways, and I LOVE it. Hee, hee. 😉 Thank you SO much for the encouragement!!

  3. My dog likes to come up and sniff my face while I do inversions when I’m practicing yoga at home. Sometimes she’ll lay down right underneath me when I’m in downward dog. It’s cute.

  4. The cats were helping you out with some extra resistance training. They’re your personal trainers.

    The mental image of doctors pulling numbers out of hats is funny. If that were the case, can’t you just see nurses placing bets? “I’ll give you 10-to-1 odds that it’s 6-8 weeks.” Keep up the good work!

  5. Have you tried yoga? I’m not sure if the sun salutations will bother your knee, but I know I always feel great afterwards. I recommend Brian Kest!

  6. “I won’t lie, it’s a little frustrating when you’re trying to look all confident and strong while working out, and then suddenly you have a cat writhing around between your legs and trying to grab at your shoes.”—> story of my life!! When I workout at home I have animals all over me! I try to feel hard core but it just doesn’t work LOL.

  7. Haha, my dogs do the same thing then I try to do crunches. They are like ” Mom, are you okay?” My little dog even proceeds to lick my forehead. So, I totally understand.

Leave a Reply

