Over-Night Oats

I used to be a morning person, but I feel as though these days, I’m setting the alarm clock as late as possible without running the risk of being late for work. A large part of it, I imagine, is due to the fact that it’s a typical New England winter.  I can’t remember the last time I felt warm sunshine on my skin, and all I can say is “thank goodness” for the sun-kissed glow that comes from using bronzer or else I’d be paler than pale.

Even if it’s all the rage these days, I wouldn’t want the neighbors to think that I had turned into a vampire or something.  😉

This morning was a particularly rough one, and had it not been for a fuzzy lump trying to steal my pillow, I probably would have decided to just ignore the obnoxious, screeching alarm-clock.  I sat up for one second, and he immediately found a comfy spot and told me to come back in one hour with kitty treats.

Silly cat!

Anyway, this morning, to fight the winter duldrums, I decided to switch up my morning routine by branching out and trying a new breakfast that is currently all the rage.  Oh, you know, just a little something known as over-night oats.

Ever hear of it?

Nate watched me make the foodie ‘concoction’ with a face that reflected only fear and horror and asked, “What is that supposed to be?”  So I imagine that over-night oats might not be for everyone.  But in an odd way that I can’t explain, I really enjoyed it.

I prefer my cereal to be cold, so this method of eating oatmeal was right up my ally.  Not to mention the fact that it was chock-full of healthy ingredients, including flax-seed which is kind of a super-food that I don’t eat often enough.  🙂  The end result was a bit like a chewy smoothy… which I know sounds weird, but — again — I enjoyed it.

I stuck with the original recipe, but there are so many flavor options.  My sister had a great suggestion to add cocoa powder… or you could use chocolate soy milk, different fruits, or even varying yogurt selections. To add some crunch, you could top with chopped nuts, coconut, or cereal.

Whatever you want goes!

But here is the typical recipe that’s floating around, if you’d like to try it just to get started.  It is a bit funky… but in a yummy sort of way.  😉

Basic Overnight Oats

1/3 cup oatmeal

1/3 cup milk (I used vanilla soy milk)

1/3 cup yogurt (I used vanilla)

1/2 sliced banana

tablespoon flaxseed

dash cinnamon

Mix all ingredients and place in the fridge over-night.  In the morning, stir and enjoy!  🙂

5 thoughts on “Over-Night Oats

  1. I did this for a while and just used almond milk and oats. I should try it again and add more stuff in, especially your addition of cinnamon or Sarah’s suggestion for cocoa powder.

  2. I tried overnight oats once a little over a year ago, and I ruined it for myself. I tried to combine way too many bizarre ingredients and it was disgusting! Maybe I will try again, but probably not haha. I love your kittyyy!!

    • Ha, ha. I’m ‘really’ surprised that I didn’t do that, because as I was making them I suddenly had this temptation to empty out my cupboard and pour bits of this and that into it. 😉

Leave a Reply

