NYC — The Planning Stages

It would probably be safe to say that my sister Sarah and I could get lost on a simple drive to the mall.

It’s not that we don’t have a sense of direction or that we can’t figure out a map.  The main concern is generally that she and I get so lost in conversation that we completely lose track of time or where we’re going.  Case in point, there was that one time that we were happily chatting away on our drive home from the mall that we missed our exit… then we kind of missed our state.  We’ll never live that one down, especially since we had to call my Dad to help us figure out how to get home.

(In our defense, the mall is an hour away… But still…).  😉

Soooooo, Sarah and I figured that the only way our parents and my husband would let us run off to New York City for a weekend this spring would be to really plan it out.  Because apparently, knowing that we want to visit the Peanut Butter & Co. cafe and Central Park doesn’t really count as planning.  Like, we actually have to know where we’re going to stay and how we’re going to get everywhere else.

You know, important stuff.

So Friday night, she and I took the first, necessary steps to make this dream of ours happen.

Oh, wait, that’s our stop for some Fro Yo.  🙂  Oops.  Oh well, eating Fro Yo is way more fun than looking at maps.

But maps are kind of important when you’re planning on going to a city that has more streets than you’d care to count up to.  So we bought one.  And we bought a book too.

And maybe if we practice really hard from now until then, we’ll learn to actually pay attention to where we’re going while we’re chatting away.  Because, well, I highly doubt we’ll be able to cut down on the chatting.  🙂

11 thoughts on “NYC — The Planning Stages”

  1. I live for trip planning! I absolutely love it (almost as much as the trip itself!).

    I’m big on buying guidebooks too. I think they can we really helpful for getting ideas about what to do, especially if they have walking tours in them. Those are my favourite.

    I also use Frommers.com a lot if I don’t buy their guidebook because I like using their itineraries as a rough guide for planning my own itinerary plus they have those walking tours that I love.

  2. You’re not taking the train?!?

    And Sarah darling, pleeeeeease tell me where I can buy your scarf. I need it immediately! As long as I’m seeing correctly and those are elephants.

    1. Aw, thank you Janelle! 😀 I got the elephant scarf (I love elephants, so I couldn’t resist!!) from the GAP last year. I’m not sure if they’re still in stock or not!

  3. You’re so funny! Even in the very early planning stages, this sounds like such a fun trip! Be sure to go and see a show while you are there. It is ALWAYS worth it! I believe you can get a discount on Wednesday matinee tickets–or you used to be able to do that. It’s been a while since I’ve made the trip!! Can’t wait to hear more about your plans.

Leave a Reply

