Kindness Week — Day # 5

For today’s act of kindness, I made a chicken stew and some sugar cookies for my Pepere.  Like most men, the way to his heart is through his stomach, and he sure does appreciate a good meal.  🙂  But the funny thing is that a little thing happened earlier today that I hadn’t planned.  It just happened, and it was simple, but it’s what I feel like counting writing about.

I was waiting to check out at the grocery store today when I noticed a young mom in line behind me with her two children… Her curly-haired daughter was fidgeting, giggling, and all smiles while sitting in the carriage. The little boy was shooting invisible bad-guys with a neon-green water gun. (An empty water gun, thank goodness, as I’m fairly certain that I was accidentally in the line of fire, once or twice). The mom, on the other hand, struck me as being a little bit over-tired and in need of a quiet afternoon and a nap.

The minute I saw them, I thought of the little coupon booklet in my purse for free Jr. Frosty’s at Wendy’s. It’s not that I don’t like Frosty’s or anything, but I was pretty sure that the coupon booklet would sit in my purse until the coupons had expired. It’s only happened a few times before. 😉

I hesitated. Came up with a million excuses in a matter of seconds. Felt like I was going to hyper-ventalate and faint from silly nerves.  Paid for my groceries and started to walk away before I found the nerve to turn around and offer the coupon booklet to the young mom. She looked surprised at first, but then she thanked me with a beautiful smile and turned to ask the kids if they would like a treat on the ride home.

The excited ‘yays’ and shouts that ensued was enough to turn me into a Frosty-giving super-hero.

It didn’t matter that the gesture was small or that I had just saved a young mom two measly dollars. It was all about the thought. The fact that a stranger had taken a moment to be kind. And to those two kids? Well, I was pretty much the coolest person in the grocery store that day. 😉

If I’ve learned one thing this week it’s that being kind to strangers doesn’t come naturally. Neither does seeking out ways to show kindness. It’s not that we’re all selfish… It’s a matter of being too busy and focused on what we need to accomplish that day. Most often, we are so caught up in our own little worlds that we fail to see the people around us.

This week has been eye-opening for me.  Finding different ways to show kindness was more of a challenge than I thought it was going to be, and I never in a million years thought it would actually be scary sometimes.  But the week was also more rewarding than I could have imagined.  And so, I’ve decided that I don’t want it to end.  🙂  I’m  not sure if it will be a weekly segment or a monthly one.  I’m not sure what I’ll call it.  But little acts of kindness will definitely be incorporated into this blog — and most importantly my life — here on out.

Because I know that Kindness Week helped me to start stepping out of a shell that I didn’t know existed…

And I don’t want to go back in.  🙂

Thank you, again, Gina for asking me to be a part of this with you!! 

10 thoughts on “Kindness Week — Day # 5”

  1. This was really beautiful, Nicole, and I’m so glad you were willing to share your experiences throughout the week. I feel that sometimes we get so caught up in feeling like we can’t do anything BIG (like saving the starving kids in Africa,) so we don’t do anything. But the little things can really make a world of difference…

    LOVED these posts and you’ve inspired me this week as well!! 😀

  2. Your kindness posts have been really inspiring. Especially to me because I’ll be the first to admit that I can be a total bitch to strangers at times. I probably would have seen that woman an thought “thank god I don’t have kids” instead of “what can I do to help her?”.
    You’re a better person than I am.

  3. Sometimes it’s scary because you wonder if the person you’re offering to help is going to look at you like you’re a creepy weirdo! Okay maybe that’s just me worrying about that 😉

    Congrats on completing this week and I am so looking forward to more of this!

  4. PERFECT!! Those kids will be talking about you for years – the Frosty-Giving-Superhero! It’s so cool how delibrately seeking to be kind each day opens our eyes to things we never would have noticed before.

  5. Double the kindness! I love it!!! Thank you so much for doing this with me. It was fun, and I feel like I learned so much! I’m going to try and keep it up!!! Have a great weekend 🙂

  6. I think that unplanned act of kindness might be the best yet. Not because it took the most time or the most planning or even that it had the biggest impact on the recipient, but more that it seems to have had the biggest impact on you. It shows how you have changed your way of thinking. That you are actively looking for ways to bless people. I love that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

