Kindness Week – Day # 3

I’m not sure if I’ve ever mentioned this on my blog before or not, but Nate and I are assistant worship leaders at my church.  I’m also the pianist, so it’s double-duty for me when it’s my turn to lead the singing.  😉  But it’s something that both Nate and I love, and it’s something that we can do together.

So it’s really special for me!

When Nate was recovering from the accident in June, we thought he might never sing again, because his vocal chords had been injured.  He could hardly talk, never mind sing.  Even the doctors weren’t sure to what extent he would heal.

I won’t lie… On his first morning of  leading worship again (just a few weeks ago), as he sang Our God is Amazing, I had to bite my lip so hard it almost bled, because I was so sure that I was going to turn into a puddle of tears right there in church.  Music can be emotional anyway… But when your husband almost dies and then almost loses the talent he loves more than anything?  Well, there’s nothing that can explain the feelings that rush through you when you realize that God gave you both a miracle.

So for Day # 3 of Kindness Week, Nate and I wanted to collaborate together to use the music we love so much.  Not only to show kindness. But maybe also to say, “Thank you SO much, God, for giving this back to us.”

Sooooo, today I will not be doing an official act of kindness, but I will be scheduling one in.  🙂  I was in touch with the activity director of a nearby elderly home, and Nate and I are going to have a sing-along for the residents who live there.  Although we haven’t picked the official song list yet, I imagine that there will be old favorites along the lines of You are My Sunshine, Oh What a Beautiful Morning, and Oh Susanna.

The activity director I spoke to was thrilled and assured me that the residents are going to be thrilled.  I have a feeling though that Nate and I are going to be the ones who are touched the most.  🙂

9 thoughts on “Kindness Week – Day # 3”

  1. Oh Nicole, this is perfect! What a way to use your specific gifts to bless others! I can’t imagine how emotional that Sunday must have been for you. I’m not sure how you held it together – I’m pretty sure I would’ve lost it, haha! Our God truly is Amazing! 🙂

  2. Super, super cool. I award you a million Awesome Lady points! I’m very thankful Nate can still sing (and all the other things he can still do!) Also, I SO wish I could sing. Gah!

    Think any old men will hit on you?? ha 😉

  3. That’s awesome that you guys both sing together. Matt’s voice is terrible and I like to pretend that I can sing but I’m not all that good . . . so you can imagine what sing-a-longs are like at our house.
    And of course, it’s really great that you’re going to do a sing-a-long at a nursing home. I’m sure the residents will love it.

Leave a Reply

