Valentine’s Day!

As you know, this past weekend, Nate and I traipsed through the deep snow around — and across–  a lake nearby our house.  The wind whipped at our faces…  It was exhausting…  And the trail seemed to stretch on, and on, and on.

When we got to the other side, we found a patch of frozen dirt that we could stomp our feet on and try to get some of the snow off our boots and legs.

As I was staring at the ground and doing my funny, stomp-dance, I suddenly felt Nate’s arms around me…  He pulled me in for a kiss and said, “Today was romantic, wasn’t it?”

At first, I’m afraid that I paused a moment in slight shock.  I was still out of breath, my hair was being whipped around into an afro, there was now sweat gushing down his face from the exertion, and both of us were covered in a fine powder of snow.  But then I realized that as much as I adore a fancy dinner from time to time, and as delightful as chocolates and roses may be, spending an afternoon with my husband and sharing an adventure together?  That tops them all.  It was romantic.

For me, Valentine’s Day is a special occasion, no matter how much it may be over-done.  You don’t have to buy into the hype to make it count.  🙂  Tonight I make my hubby a special, Valentine’s Day dinner.  And on Saturday, he is going to take me out to eat to celebrate.  Simple but… romantic.

And usually, those are the moments that truly count…. just like walking through the snow one afternoon with my hubby.  🙂

Happy Valentine’s Day, my friends!

9 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day!”

Leave a Reply

