Are you ready for some football?

I do really, really like football.  And the Superbowl.

When Nate and I were dating, we would watch the Patriot’s play every Sunday.  (Now that we’re married, we still do).  And sometimes, if it was an off-day or the game wasn’t until late in the day, we’d go outside to throw a football around to get some fresh air and exercise.  Nate even proposed to me on the day that we first went to an actual game.

The sport is kind of a big deal to us.

But really, I think that my absolute favorite part of the American tradition is not the game itself, the rivalry, or even the players, as much as I may have — in the past — had a crush on Tom Brady.  😉

But for me, the Superbowl on Sunday was all about this…

… and this.

And, obviously, this.

Because you can’t have a family Superbowl party without having lots of food.  (Tomato Onion Phyllo Pizza)

Lots and lots and lots…  (spinach artichoke dip)

of oh-so-delicious food.

Oh, right, and football.  There was football too…  😉

One of the desserts I made this year was a lighter version of Key Lime Pie.  It is one of the quickest pie recipes you will ever make, and the end result is rich, creamy, and tart.  Your guests will find it indulgent and a bit like cheesecake.  So only you will know just how delightfully easy it was to make!

1 - edited 3

Key Lime Pie

1 (14-oz.) can sweetened condensed milk (to make it light, use fat-free or reduced fat)

3/4 cup egg substitute

 1/2 cup fresh lime juice
 2 teaspoons grated lime rind (about 2 limes)

(6-oz.) ready-made graham cracker crust (or make your own)

whipped topping

Preparation

  1. Process first 4 ingredients in a blender until smooth. Pour mixture into piecrust.
  2. Bake at 350° for 30 minutes or until golden.  Let cool and then refrigerate at least 4 hours.
  3. Top with whipped topping.
9 thoughts on “Are you ready for some football?”

  1. Mmm – looks delicious!

    I like football, don’t get me wrong. K coaches at a local high school, so I have to like the sport. But the food is what gets me each Super Bowl. By the end of the night, I feel like I’m the size of the largest lineman out there. And I love it.

Leave a Reply

