Zombies, paint color, and feeling happy

Zombies have never been my thing.

They kind of terrify me.

Nate assures me that it’s more probable that I will run into a green alien from outer-space — or even a dinosaur — before I see a zombie, and he’s probably right.  He’s kind of nerdy when it comes to science stuff like that.  But in my mind, zombies are the epitome of my greatest fear.

I just can’t handle it.

Case in point, I watched a Residence Evil movie with him, and I’m pretty sure that I was dangerously close to having a heart attack.  I could feel my heart hammering in my ears; and I closed my eyes for most of it, convinced that a zombie was waiting around every corner.

Scary stuff.

On a positive note, it’s kind of hard to complain about your life when you think about all the drama that could be.  I mean, think about this conversation between two people…

Person # 1:  “Wow, that was a rough day at the office!  I got yelled at by a customer… and then I got this really nasty paper cut.”

Person # 2:  “My neighbor tried to eat me.”

I mean, really, life is pretty great in a zombie-free world.

Seeing the positive in difficult circumstances doesn’t always come that easy or seem so black-and-white though, I know.  But sometimes, a good way to start is to surround yourself with positive people who uplift you and help you see the bright side.  I know that making time for faith, family, and friends always helps me to see past the things that are trying to bring me down.

There always is something to smile about and to be thankful for.

And when it comes to being cheery, I don’t think it hurts to surround yourself with bright, inviting colors either.

Last week, Nate painted the upstairs bedroom a soft blue… and we painted the dining room an asparagus green that reminds me of tulips, sunshine, and spring.  We’ve had the paint for awhile now, but never got around to actually painting with it.  Now that we have, I keep finding myself skipping into the kitchen, just to see the new color because it makes me happy.  And smiley.

Sometimes, it really is the simple things in life.

Yeah, life is pretty good.  I’ve got a great guy, the dining room is nearly finished (just waiting on a wall hanging that I ordered to come in), there’s finally color in the bedroom, and still no zombie sightings.  What more could a girl ask for?

Not much, I tell you.  Not much.  😉

14 thoughts on “Zombies, paint color, and feeling happy

  1. I am so with you on the zombies! My husband watches the Walking Dead. All by himself! There is no way I would be able to sleep if I watched that with him!
    Pretty color choices too, by the way! 🙂

    • I watched one episode of ‘The Walking Dead’ with my hubby… and then didn’t sleep for about three nights straight. LOL! Too bad you and I live so far apart, because then our hubby’s could have a man-date night and watch ‘The Walking Dead’ together. Ha, ha! 🙂

  2. I freakin LOVE that color in the dining room. So jealous!!! Must find somewhere in my house to use that color… Also, good job Nate. Tons of Awesome-Husband points! 🙂

    PS — I was wondering where you’ve been the last week. Till you left me a comment the other day, I was considering emailing you to make sure everything’s okay. Glad you posted! 🙂

    • Awww, thanks, Janelle! It was just one of those busy weeks… But thank you SO much for caring!!! And, yes, Nate has won a TON of awesome points!! 🙂

  3. Love that bright green. It definitely reminds me of tulips and spring! I love that! And the blue in the bedroom is great too. 🙂 It’s amazing how much a pretty color on the wall can make a place more cheery!

    And girl, I am with you on the whole zombie thing. Creeeeeepy stuff!

  4. I can’t get over that green color. It makes me happy every time I see it. It really is the perfect color for your cheery, bright home. Can’t wait to see it in person! 😀

Leave a Reply

