A Traveling We Will Go – Part II

Every since I was a little girl, I have been infatuated with everything Hawaiin.

I honestly never thought I’d have the opportunity to visit, seeing as how I live in the beautiful, non-tropical part of the world known as New England.  So every summer, I throw a Luau for my family, bringing a bit of the tropics here.  It’s a party where flip flops, bright colors, large flowers, pineapples, and everything else I love are in full display.

(My brother wasn’t as impressed by the Hawaiian decor as I was, but he liked the food just fine).  😉

I’m not sure what’s more fun…  Planning it or actually enjoying it with my family.  😉

But this year?  This year, I’m actually going to Hawaii.

As in, the Hawaiian sun will be shining down on my skin, the pineapple will be fresh off a tree, I’ll relax in the shade of a giant palm, and I’ll actually feel the Hawaiian sand underneath my toes.  (And I’ll get to do it all with my hubster).

Nate and I have been saving our pennies the past few years and going on much-less extravagant vacations here in New England, most often renting a cabin in the White Mountains every autumn for our anniversary.  The idea was to go further — much, much further — as a second honeymoon, once we had saved enough and before we had cut out a second income.  And Nate, knowing how much I adore everything Hawaiian, suggested we go there.

And I, obviously, agreed… by screaming and throwing my arms around his neck.  😉

So yesterday, we found a pretty good deal on a twelve-hour flight (the one part of the trip that I’m not looking forward to), rented a condo in Hawaii (which was actually much cheaper than a hotel), and then sat back and dreamed about all the fun we’ll have.

I’m kind of over-the-top excited and using every ounce of will-power within me to not start packing already… even though we don’t leave for months.  🙂  Which I think is only a sign that I’m going to have a case of Hawaii-on-the-brain pretty much nonstop until I go.  (So I apologize now for already having written two posts about my upcoming trip, and I promise to do my best to get this under control by my next blog post).

It’s really not easy… Case in point, I visited a new outlet mall with some gal pals the other day and bypassed all the discounted sweaters and long-sleeved T’s.

You know, I kind of decided to ignore the fact that there’s snow outside and that it’s the middle of January.  Instead, I headed straight for the limited supply of spring clothes that were already coming out and also made a mental note that there was a store dedicated completely to bathing suits.

Anyway, I behaved, and my only purchase was a heavily discounted sweater and this simple, cotton sun-dress from the Loft Outlet for only $9.97!  I think it’ll be super cute when paired with a bright scarf and a fun bracelet!  Hmmm, I’ll bet I can even wear it in… Hawaii!

Ahem, sorry.  I’m done now.  🙂

Have you ever been to Hawaii?  What place is your dream destination?

23 thoughts on “A Traveling We Will Go – Part II”

  1. I LIVE for travelling. Seriously. I spend time on my vacations figuring out where to go for my next vacation. Then I spend months planning every detail of my vacation in a sweet Excel spreadsheet itinerary that has everything from local bus times to restaurants I definitely want to eat at to directions from every point A to point B. I feel like I should have been a travel agent.

    Hawaii is not really at the top of my list of places to go, but it is someplace I do want to head eventually. I’d really love to hike in Kaua’i and do some sort of tour to learn about Polynesian culture.

    1. I’m totally the same way! For me, the planning is JUST as fun as the vacay itself! (One of the reasons why I made sure we had months to plan, rather than going right away). 🙂

  2. Nate = best husband ever. And you are adorable! Not sure I have a dream destination… maybe Italy, since I’ve only been to Rome and there’s so much more to enjoy!

    Feel free to geek out over Hawaii any time you want. It’s your blog! Plus it’s fun 🙂

  3. I say don’t apologize for posting about your Hawaii trip, it is so exciting that you are going there for a trp. Hawaii is one of my top places I want to visit that I haven’t been to yet that is tropical. I love, love your cute little white shirt with the floral decision on eit, that is really adorable! You two are going to have an amazing time and I’m so excited for you!

      1. I can tell you here but I won’t be blogging about it cos I’m afraid of boring the readers! We’re going on a little world trip-Singapore, Sydney, New Zealand (that’s the main part) and California. June and July off!!! Excitement 🙂

      2. That. Is. AWESOME!!! All of those places sound amazing, although I think I would especially love to see Sydney… and New Zealand. AND California. Oh, who am I kidding, all of the places you’re seeing will be amazing!!! 🙂 I cannot wait to see pics!

  4. We went to Hawaii on our honeymoon. Boy do I have a lot of stories about that trip! It was awesome, but one thing I wish is that we learned to lay back and relax more rather than trying to pack in too many activities. When (not if) we go back, I am bringing books, sunscreen, and my trusty sun-hat, I am lounging by the pool or on the beach every stinking day!!!

    By the way, every meal (except one) was delicious, so you will eat well. And contrary to what I said above, book a helicopter trip. You will never forget it!

    Excited for you!

      1. You’re TOTALLY not a nerd at all, because I would love all your ideas and input if we were going to Maui!! We’re actually going to Oahu though… We both really wanted to see Pearl Harbor, the Dole plantation, and the sites where they filmed Lost. BUT I will definitely take your advise and make sure we don’t over-do each day… and will make sure we leave lots of time for chillaxin’!!! (As for the food, I have been googling a ton of restaurants, and I can already tell that we are going to eat a ot of amazing things! LOL).

  5. We have luaus here nearly every winter to help bring a little sunshine to the miserable weather, haha! Love that you are so into Hawaii! I am looking forward to hearing all about your trip – both the planning for it and the actual trip! 🙂

      1. Hmmm….that’s a tough one. Probably somewhere with mountains for hiking and lots of small townie kind of shops. I love a good room with a view!

Leave a Reply

