Mom’s Birthday Party

If you’ve read my blog for any amount of time, then you’ll already know that I love birthdays.  I believe in celebrating the lives of those we love.  So I don’t care if you’re celebrating your sweet sixteen or your sexy sixtieth, you should embrace your day!

Age is a number.   But years?  Years are filled with experiences, memories, cherished moments, and lessons learned.  They bring wisdom, newfound friendships, and a deeper appreciation of what really matters in life.

So, yes, birthdays kind of rock.

My mom’s 55th birthday is this week, so my sister and I collaborated to bring the family together on Sunday for a special, birthday dinner.

Actually, there wasn’t much collaboration.  Mom said she wanted taco’s for dinner and chocolate-frosted cupcakes for dessert.  And when it comes to my family, if you say that there’s going to be food, we’re all there.  😉

Easy-peasy!

I’m very blessed to be surrounded by so many strong women who I can look up to as role models and examples.  To write about them all would probably fill a book.  🙂 But ultimately, my mom has had the greatest impact on my life.

She’s one of the most generous people I have ever met.  She taught me to believe in myself, to be positive, to always put family first, to trust God for everything, and to show love even when it’s not easy.

She also taught me that it’s okay to be silly… 😉

My brother made it up for the party, which I know meant a lot to her, and it was the perfect family meal.  Lots of talking and laughing and teasing.

Even Stitchy had a fun time.  My brother kept pulling down the helium balloons, and Stitchy would catch them and play with the string.

I honestly never expected to see my cat run by me with a balloon in his mouth… but it was a hilarious moment that I won’t soon forget.  😉

Yeah, birthdays are pretty special…   And so is my mom.

Happy Birthday, Mumsy Wumsy!!  🙂  I love you because… you’re the ‘bestest’ mom ever!

9 thoughts on “Mom’s Birthday Party”

  1. 1) Your mama is stylish! 2) I want your shirt! 3) I want to play with your kitties!! I hope they didn’t eat the ribbon. My old cat used to do that… you can imagine how that looks when it comes out. ew.

  2. I love that you have such a great relationship with your mom. She really does sound like an amazing lady. Happiest of birthdays to her! Glad your brother was able to make it! Such a wonderful celebration! 🙂 Also, your cat + balloon = hilarious!

Leave a Reply

