2012 in Review

I guess that one way I might describe 2012 would be to say, “It was the best of times… it was the worst of times.”  It was a good year.  But in other ways, it was the hardest year I have ever faced.

But God brought me and Nate through it, and kept us together and encouraged us every step of the way.  🙂

***

As usual, my sister Sarah and I found time to go to Boston, shop, and eat Fro Yo whenever possible.  😉

I realized that I actually have a crafty side and began to try new projects.

I walked the Relay for Life with my family (my sister and brother are in this pic with me), in support of my cousin Cara who was battling Cancer.  She lost her fight to cancer a few months later…

Nate was severely injured in an accident in June.  When I rushed to the ICU after receiving the phone-call, the doctors told me that Nate would be a quadriplegic for the rest of his life.  Those same doctors later called it a miracle, when Nate not only walked again… but spoke, breathed, and ate on his own.

I filed for FMLA and was out of work for a month so that I could stay home and take care of him.

The support we received was over-whelming.  I cried sometimes at how much people were doing to make sure we were okay.

Nate even ordered flowers for me one today to thank me for taking care of him!

No matter how many bad things you hear on the news, always remember that there are truly amazing people out there.

To say ‘thank you’, Nate and I hosted a small luncheon at our church, so that we could thank everyone in person.  It was such a special day.

I really learned to take things one step at a time this year.  To not sweat the small stuff and to just trust God through everything.

Nate got stronger and healthier every week.  His leg was — and still is — completely numb, but the doctors couldn’t believe how quickly everything else healed.  Again, they kept saying, “It’s a miracle.”  And Nate and I would just smile… because we had known all along that it was.

This year I grew my first little garden…

… and I ran my first 5k.

I also ran my second 5k.  🙂

My sister and I had makeup lessons at Bare Minerals….

…my family celebrated Pepere’s 80th birthday.

… and my sister and friend Ashley made homemade pasta for the first time.

Nate and I played hippies on Halloween…

… and stayed in New Hampshire for a few days in the Fall, just to get away and spend time with each other.

There were banquets…

… our first camping trip together (and my first time visiting Cape Cod)…

… and a trip to Vegas.

We really did do a lot this year, I’m realizing!  Ha, ha.

And God brought us through a LOT.  I learned so much, but mostly that life is precious… and that with God on my side, I’m a whole lot stronger than I ever thought I could be.

Goodbye 2012.  HELLO, 2013!

8 thoughts on “2012 in Review”

  1. I certainly hope that 2013 brings you more luck than 2012 did. You certainly deserve it.

    I’m glad you were able to celebrate the year in spite of the difficulties you guys faced.

  2. I still tear up thinking about everything that happened with Nate this year. I am so thankful that he is even better than okay. So much better than the doctors thought possible. Such a blessing! This year looks like such a wonderful showing of living each moment and embracing life. Love you, friend!

Leave a Reply

