Fitness Friday – Getting Started… again

I was going to start my Fitness Friday segments again but then I realized that I didn’t work out once this week.  Unless Black Friday shopping counts?  In which case, I ran a marathon last Friday and I’m still recovering.

 

No, really. I am still recovering.

Anyway… That being said, I do now have a working treadmill in my basement.  So I have run out of excuses… and it’s time for me to start running. Literally.  As in working up a sweat, and building muscles, and just all-around being more active.

It hasn’t been such a great year when it comes to that, and my thought is this. Why wait until New Year’s to start turning resolutions into habits?  Why not start now?  It’s not cheating, I promise!

I have decided to change things up a bit, though, by kicking things off much slower than I normally would.  In years past, I would begin running 2-3 miles from the start.  I always thought that I would get into shape much faster this way, but — instead — I just burnt myself out or ended up with an injury.  (Which usually resulted in weeks without running and then a blog post very similar to this).

So this time, my motto is going to be ‘Slow and Steady Wins the Race’.  My challenge this week is to just run one mile every day.  That’s it.  Just enough to get myself moving and to get into a bit of a routine… without dying from exhaustion and having to rearrange my life in order to find the time for a workout. 

One mile every day. 

I know it doesn’t sound like much… But on the other hand,  running one mile a day means that I’ll be running 7 miles a week.  And that’s 7 more miles than I ran last week. 

Want to join in on my weekly health challenges?  If so, let me know what your goal is this week and then next week, let me know how you did!  🙂

11 thoughts on “Fitness Friday – Getting Started… again

  1. I’ve been trying to enjoy movement! In other words, if I wake up and feel like walking, I go for a walk. If I wake up and feel like running, I run. If I wake up and feel like yoga….etc, etc, etc.

    That being said, running has been my thing lately. I did walk once this week and it was lovely, because the sun was just rising and the sky was all pink like cotton candy. Delicious. But usually I run. Just a short run is enough to (a) keep me healthy, (b) keep me sane and (c) maintain my weight without leaving me STARVING which longer miles tend to do (which makes me end up craving junk which kind of negates the fact that I’m running…go figure.)

    So. Long story short. I want to be a more intuitive exerciser. I want to listen to my body and give it what it wants. I love moving in general, and as long as I’m moving, that’s what counts. It doesn’t have to be intense like P90x or Crossfit…it can be gentle and nurturing and respectful and ENJOYABLE. And that’s where I’m at right now.

    That wasn’t a long story short at all, was it?

  2. Pingback: In Love With Movement. | The Simple Dietitian

  3. “And that’s 7 more miles than I ran last week.” Yes it is! Something is better than nothing and it’s always best to ease into workouts.

  4. I like the idea of running one mile a day. I was doing a lot before Thanksgiving and with all the travel….it got to be a lot harder, and will continue to be hard as I will be traveling a lot this month (although, I did actually work out in the gym at our hotel on Black Friday…I am super proud of that one).
    I don’t know if I will do it the whole month, but running a mile every day for the next week is a lot more probable, so I will at least try to do that.
    Thanks for the inspiration! (and that shopping bag pic made me laugh out loud and startled my pups! 🙂 )

  5. My goal is to run 6 miles by Christmas Day. I’m up to 5 at the moment. Not sure if I’m gonna do it cos I’m not a fan of running in the cold, dark and wet!

  6. I am very lazy when it comes to any form of exercise so I’ve come up with a fun way to do it. I live in a concrete jungle and running and walking usually do more harm than good here. 😦
    But my husband bought me the xbox kinect and I’ve been getting in about 2 hours of crazy energetic dancing to all my favorite numbers everyday! It’s the most fun I’ve had exercising in…well ever!.

Leave a Reply

