Trick… or Treat

I’ve never been a huge fan of Halloween.

Mainly because I despise anything creepy, sneaky, bloody, scary, ghoulish, spooky, deadly, devilish, or creepy.  Wait, did I already say ‘creepy’?  Well, let’s just throw it in there again.

I really don’t like it very much.

I was the girl who hid in her room every Halloween, waiting for it to be over.  And that was just during my college years.  Don’t get me started on how terrified I was when I was little.

Like 27 years old.

Shudder.  That was a particularly scary year for costumes.

But anyway, this year, my pastor and his wife approached me and Nate (and the entire church) and asked if we wanted to host a Halloween event for the community.  Games for kids.  Free candy.  A coloring station.  And a chance for the community to come out and meet the members of our little church.  (Let me tell you, the church may be little, but it sure has heart).

So I said, “YES!  Of course we’ll help!!”

Nate was a little more hesitant, especially when I insisted that his 70’s costume include a wig.  A wig that pulled me into a fit of giggles every time it landed on his head.  Hilarious!

But then he really got into it.  Like really, really got into it.  Which I guess is just one of the reasons why he really is my guy.  Because I need someone who can be silly and just have fun… even if it is a spook-tacular day like Halloween.

(Although I have to say that the excited faces of the kids, the appreciation of the parents, and the experience of dressing up in fun costumes was totally a blast.  And maybe, just maybe, I’m a little bit excited about next year.  Just as long as everyone promises to not dress up scary!).

If you dressed up this year, what was your costume??

7 thoughts on “Trick… or Treat

  1. I love Nate in his outfit and the wig just makes it perfect! You two look super cute and I got in the halloween mood this year too, I hate things that are scary but I enjoyed myself dressing up wih my husband. I’ll stay away from scary stuff but steer toward making a fool of myself. 😉

  2. I am with you on not liking the spooky/gross parts of Halloween. But dressing up in fun costumes, hanging out with friends and handing out candy to cute kids… I’m all over that! We did “trunk or treat” with our church last night and had a great time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

