Just Us

When Nate and I were first getting to know each other, we only hung out in a group setting with mutual friends, because — really — that’s how we met in the first place.

One of my favorite memories is one of us hiking a nearby mountain with a bunch of young adults from our church and our pastor.  (Actually, it was the pastor who ended up marrying us).  🙂

During the course of the hike up the mountain, everyone spread out to match their own, particular pace; and Nate and I ended up hiking for a portion of the way together.  (Actually, his pace conveniently matched mine for the majority of the hike, if I remember correctly).  😉

But anyway, Nate and I were chatting about a bunch of random things in between boulders we had to climb over, and I remember him randomly asking me what my favorite season was.  Naturally, I replied, “Autumn,” and he exclaimed, “Wow, me too!  Nicole, we have so much in common.”

Worst pickup line ever?

Probably.  But it was also probably one of the cutest.

Autumn has since then become our season.  At the first sign of changing leaves, I can’t help but think back to that day and to everything we’ve gone through together since.  We were married in the fall, we always vacation in the fall, and we both love all the activities that come with the season.

Fall just makes me happy!

You know what else makes me happy?  Driving to a rustic, New England restaurant (that I’m sure feels a lot like it would to step into a Thomas Kinkade painting) to celebrate four happy years of marriage.

Oh, and chunky chicken pot-pie.  If I had to pick a last meal, it would probably be that.  To me, it’s comfort food at its best.

Hmmmm, another good memory to add to the list.  🙂

I know I’ve said it before…  But sometimes, the simple moments really are the best!  🙂

8 thoughts on “Just Us

  1. How can you not love autumn when you live in New England?
    Autumn is probably my favourite season too, but these shorter days are killing me. I can hardly get up in the morning.

    The worst pick-up line I heard was at a bookstore when a guy asked me something in a foreign language I didn’t understand. I looked confused and then he said: Oh, you don’t speak Dutch? How many languages do you speak? and then later proceeded to ask me what books I was looking at. It was really awkward and I almost felt embarrassed for the guy.

  2. Aw you made him work for it! ha. Your pot pie looks pretty. Around here (PA), pot pie is more like soup and has big doughy square noodles in it.

    Hope you have a wonderful anniversary weekend!

  3. As George Peppard used to say on the A Team, “I love it when a plan comes together.” Congratulations you two, and tons of blessings for the next year.

  4. Aw!! 🙂 Fall is my favorite season too… my wedding anniversary (also four years :D) is tomorrow, actually. It’s our season as well, and how can you not love it in your area of the world? (Or mine – the weather is absolutely gorgeous and the leaf colors are amazing, even though this year it was predicted that they wouldn’t be, due to the drought.)

    Glad I found your new blog. 🙂 I’m going to try to keep up with mine with a little more regularity (you know, instead of once a year, heehee). I look forward to reading many more updates, and also trying to catch up with what has gone on for you all year. 🙂 God bless!!

Leave a Reply

