Kitty-Cat Tales

The first floor of my home is divided in half by a staircase, creating two separate rooms instead of one large one.  The room bordering the dining room has become a casual den, complete with flat-screen tv, leather couch, a surround-sound system, and blue-ray player.  And the room bordering the kitchen has a plaid-couch, flower-patterned chairs, dainty red lamps, a wooden piano, and an invisible sign which reads ‘no boys allowed’.

I don’t sit in our cozy living room all that often, to be completely honest, although it’s my favorite go-to spot on rainy days that require fuzzy blankets and a good book.  But it makes me happy every morning when I walk through it on my way to eat breakfast.  And when my friends come to visit, we’ll make a cup of tea and curl up on the couch to chat about books, movies, clothes, and football.  (Random combination, I know… but I do love me some football and the Patriots!!).  🙂

So it’s officially one of my favorite rooms in the house… which means I was a little more than frustrated when my two mischievous cats decided to turn my adorable couch into a scratching post.

Yeah, he looks innocent enough.  But don’t let him fool you.  He’s trying to take over the world… and in his spare time, he wants to destroy my living room. 

I’d hear them at night.  The dark house would be silent and then… scratch, scratch, scratch.   I’d throw the blankets off of me and race down the stairs at breakneck speed, nearly falling over two cats who had conveniently decided to run up the stairs at the same time.

It’s like they have radar or something!

I tried everything.  I sprayed the furniture down with lemon-scented spray, which promised to keep fuzzy animals away.  But apparently, my cats are two of the only felines on the planet who are actually attracted to the scent of lemon.  I covered the pillows in foil and discovered that my cats like the crinkly sound it makes when they roll over it.  They also aren’t deterred by sticky paper or being squirted by water.

So that was a major fail as well.

After about a year of this, I began to see little frayed pieces of fabric coming out of the couch, and I was pretty much pulling my hair out.  The cats on the other hand?  They were mocking me!

At about this same time, my sister came over with a curvy scratching post for the cats.  Apparently her cat didn’t like it, so she thought that maybe I could use it.  I accepted the cat furniture, not because I thought my feline pets deserved the new toy but because I was beginning to realize that I’d soon need something to replace the couch.

And, really, anything is better than nothing when you’re desperate.

Twenty-five dollars.  That’s what my sister spent on that curvy contraption covered in rug.  And do you want to know something?  My cats have fallen in love with it.  In fact, they sleep on the thing like it’s a bed.  They kick it and cuddle it and scratch it.  And they haven’t scratched our furniture once since!

Not.  Once.

Twenty-five dollars and a cat regift from my sister.  That’s all it took to save my couch (which is still in good shape, as it was saved in the nick of time and I was able to trim the frayed pieces).

My cats on the other hand?  Well, one of them is requesting a name change now.  So I have to figure out what to do about that….

6 thoughts on “Kitty-Cat Tales

  1. Bahaha…this post made me laugh. The kitties are just so darn cute and I love ’em so much. And so glad they fell in love with the scratching post. Humphrey is just too finicky and goes only for the cardboard…haha. 😀

  2. This is why I don’t have cats. If a cat was scratching my furniture I’d go nuts on him.
    …but then again my dog ate the corner of my wood coffee table as a puppy. So I should probably shut my mouth.

  3. Ah they’re adorable! My kitties get into lots of trouble too (as you’ve read!) I really like this scratching post and will have to give it a try. The one we have is a cheap-o cardboard thing and send shreds of cardboard flying all over the room/house.

  4. Haha.. I’m not a fan of cats or pets in general… I often saw my student’s dog before scratching their furniture like crazy! Good thing you got that magical rug. =p

    BTW, thanks for dropping by my blog =)

Leave a Reply

