Hellooooooo out there!

Hi!

My name is Nicole.

And I am a blogger.

Do you remember me? 

I can’t believe how long it’s been since I blogged!  Or maybe I can?  I’ve been out of work for about a month now, and I’m planning on going back next week… and it still boggles my mind that the last time I stepped into the office, it was still June.  Then again, it boggles my mind that the accident was about a month ago too.  Hours, days, nights, and weeks have kind of all blended together into a confusing jumble.

Help me, I have absolutely no idea what day it is.!  😉 

I’m more than ready to step back into a sense of normalcy, even if — in some ways — it will be a new normal.  While I lost my running and hiking partner for the summer, I have my husband.  All that matters right now is that he’s alive and doing well.  If we have to go on tiny little walks up the street for the rest of the year, I won’t complain.  He’s here with me, and that’s all that matters!

All that matters is that we’re walking up the street… hand in hand… TOGETHER!   

I’m also ready to move forward with this blog, so I won’t be covering details on the accident or probably very much in regards to his recovery.  (He still has severe numbness in his left leg, so we’re currently getting tests done to hopefully find out what’s causing it and what can be done to alleviate it.  There’s also still swelling in his face and throat).  But he looks quite good, I must say, and if it weren’t for the scars on his neck, the trache bandage, and his slow gait when he walks, you wouldn’t even know that anything had happened.

You know, one of you had commented on how the title of this blog would have even more meaning for me now.  And you were so right.

Throughout this process of first staying with him in the ICU for a week and then taking care of him at home, I have learned to truly take life one day at a time.  To not worry about what tomorrow might bring and to just cherish today.  Even to just face the battles of today… for tomorrow will have its own worries and concerns.

And really, there have been cares.  And struggles.  And confusing things that need to get done ASAP, even though you have no idea how to do them.  But Movie nights are snugglier, dreams are dreamier, sunshine sparklier, and hugs extra warmier.    (What!?!  ‘Warmier’ isn’t a word?  Well, I officially think that it should be!).  🙂

Each day is beautiful.  (Like my mom and sister!  🙂  Wouldn’t have been able to get through this without these amazing ladies).

And truly, I have learned to Just Live It.

So I can’t wait to see what today will bring.  🙂  And I can’t wait to move forward… with my hubby by my side!

Missed you all,

Nicole

8 thoughts on “Hellooooooo out there!”

  1. Hello lovely lady! I’m glad you are back and that you have been able to take wisdom from the accident. You and Nate are very inspiring and I am beyond happy that he is feeling a lot better. You have a great attitude and outlook on life! Have a nice weekend and get some warmier hugs 😉

  2. I am glad to hear from you and that Nate is doing better too, which is really great to read. I would think that going through something like what you two went through would literally force you take things one day at a time and to have you living every day in the moment. I am just happy to hear from you and to get an update on your hubby.

  3. I’ve missed you too! But totally have understood your time away. So glad to hear that he is recovering and glad to hear that you have such a renewed appreciation for all that is beautiful in life! I hope you are able to get answers about the numbness in his leg!

Leave a Reply

