Strawberry Jello Pie

Nothing says summer quite like fresh berries.  Blueberries.  Raspberries.  Blackberries.  And, in particular, strawberries.

So maybe that is what motivated me to make a strawberry pie a few days ago.  Here in New England, spring has been very wet and cold.  The type of cold that makes you wish you could pull out your winter coat, just to help ward off that chill.

But even if it didn’t feel much like spring outside, my hubby and I were enjoying a bit of spring when we sat down to our dinner a few nights ago.  Strawberries.  Drizzled with a sweet strawberry glaze and then topped with a cap of whipped cream.

Need I say more?

No?

How about another picture.

This is a very lite pie recipe, with only about 200 calories per slice.  So you can eat your dessert without feeling guilty (not that I ever allow myself to feel guilty over dessert). It’s chilled and full of strawberry sweetness, making it perfect for the warm summer months.

Or for those days that you want to pretend it’s spring.  :)   (Oh, and did I tell you that it takes only about fifteen minutes to put together?).

Enjoy! — Nicole

Strawberry Pie

1 graham cracker crust (it’s also so easy to make your own)

1 quart fresh strawberries

1 1/2  cups water

3/4 cup sugar

2 Tablespoons cornstarch

1 (3 oz) package Strawberry jello

Whipped topping

Prep:

Mix water, sugar, and cornstarch… then cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, until it comes to a boil.  Boil 2 minutes.  Lower heat and add package of jello.  Stir until completely dissolved and set aside to cool for 10 minutes.  Wash and drain strawberries, then slice.  Pour into prepared graham cracker crust.  Pour mixture over strawberries.  Chill for at least 8 hours, then top with whipped cream.  (Note:  can be made the day ahead).

8 thoughts on “Strawberry Jello Pie”

  1. I’ve never been a big fan of fruit in jello. I like my jello smooth. As a kid I used to like slurping jello between the (large) gaps in my teeth! You can’t do that if there’s fruit in there.

    I took advantage of strawberries this season by making jam. And then I made another batch that I COMPLETELY burned. How does someone burn jam? Don’t even ask.

    1. I’m sure I could burn jam, so don’t feel too bad! 😉 I love that you’ve been making jam though!! I’ve always wanted to make homemade jam!!!!

  2. Ooh, I can’t wait to try this recipe! Sounds like a great pie to bring to a family gathering. Berries are so expensive here in Hong Kong, but I’ll be going back to Toronto soon and I hope there will still be berries 🙂

Leave a Reply

