Kindness Week

“It’s the sense of touch.  You brush past people, people bump into you. I think we miss that touch so much, that we crash into each other, just so we can feel something.”

I’ve never seen the movie Crash, but this quote — featured in one of its trailers — has stuck with me forever.  Maybe because I feel as though I see it come true all too often.  The road rage I see on the highway, the frustration of a shopper who doesn’t want to wait for an elderly woman to pull her cart over, the blank faces I pass as I walk down the street of a busy city.  It all points to a world that has lots its connection with humanity.

We’ve replaced catching each other’s eyes with our phones and ipads.  We turn to Facebook if we need a smile.  We text ‘hugs and kisses’ to those who might need some cheering up and love.

We get so caught up in the busy requirements of every single day that we forget about what truly matters…  People.

So when Gina from Just Married contacted me the other day and invited me to take part in Kindness Week (as promoted by the Ellen show), I felt excited and instantly replied, “I’m in!”.  Sometimes we need that little reminder to focus on the people around us.  To be more giving, and attentive, and kind.

It’s not about having a ton of money to give.  It’s not about the ‘thank you’.  It isn’t even about planning strategically for hours as how to best make your kindness count.

Simple acts of kindness add up.  Sometimes, a bright smile is all that is needed to shine light in someone’s day.  Sometimes, it’s just taking the time to take the time.

So next week, for five days, I will be taking part and doing five acts of kindness… and then I’ll blog about it here.  I’m looking forward to taking some of the attention off of me for a bit and just focusing on making someone else’s life a part of this blog.  Or even a part of my life.

Will you share a little bit of kindness too?  You definitely don’t have to blog about it to take part (although you can if you want to).  Let’s just make it about sharing a bit of kindness with those around us.  :)

(And thank you, Gina, for inviting me to be a part of this with you!)

6 thoughts on “Kindness Week

  1. You have such a tender heart. I couldn’t agree more with you about how sad it is to see people walking around staring at Iphones instead of making eye contact and offering a smile to a stranger. I really so look forward to hearing about your five acts of kindness next week, friend!

  2. You are such a caring person and it totally shows (because you’re not just talk, but you’re full of action…like bringing me soup so that I can stay sane with TMJ. ;) )

    I can’t wait to read more about your acts of kindness for next week!

  3. So good! When I was doing the 28 Acts of Kindness thing in Dec/Jan, I swear I got more out of it than anyone who benefited. I loved that it made me more aware of my surroundings. I can’t wait to read about your acts of kindness, and I’ll definitely participate as well!

Leave a Reply

